MSU Libraries Web Content Standards

Most of us are used to doing most of our writing for scholarly articles, brochures, newsletters, and the like; that is, we write for print. Readers of the printed word generally read sequentially, from start to finish, in a linear fashion, and we write linearly to accommodate them.

On the Web, users rarely read this way. Instead, they scan the page for the information they want, and if they do not find it quickly, they leave. Web readers focus on headlines, keywords, and brief summaries, and do not follow a linear pattern (reading the whole page from top to bottom). Instead, they start from the center of the screen, look left and right, and then jump around, skipping long passages and following links in a random pattern.

It is important to also keep in mind that reading on the Web is physically different than reading print. Desktop, laptop, and tablet users are positioned differently. Reading from a monitor is 25% slower than reading print, and can cause eyestrain. Users with visual disabilities have an even harder time, as screen readers and magnifiers can make reading very slow and tedious.

Use Plain Language.

We use the United States government's Plain Language guidelines to govern our writing and keep it concise, conversational, and scannable without "dumbing it down."

Use active voice and first-person language.

Passive voice writing is boring, and does not indicate to the reader that whatever they're reading about is something they can do, get, or become. Third-person language reads as stilted and can be awkward.

• Avoid:

  The Mississippi State University Libraries collections are enhanced by our membership in the Mississippi Library Partnership.

• Use:

  We enhance our collections with those from fellow libraries of the Mississippi Library Partnership.

• Why?

  This shows that we actively take steps to enhance our collections - it doesn't just "happen." It humanizes both us and our audience, and reinforces the feeling that we are speaking directly to our users.

Use future-friendly language (or omit references to future happenings).

Try not to use language that builds in the need to revisit and update your words. If you are referring to content that does not yet exist - for example, plans that you have to add a piece of information "later" - simply omit that reference. "Later" is vague, and often never comes.

• Avoid:

  According to Fair Director Jennifer McGillan, the afternoon will be full of useful genealogical and historical information.

• Use:

  According to Fair Director Jennifer McGillan, the afternoon includes useful genealogical and historical information.

• Why?

  The Fair was scheduled for June 3. After June 3, the Fair will no longer "be" full of anything - it has already happened. The article now is confusing because it describes the Fair as a future event.

• Avoid:

  Details of the conference will be added at a later date.

• Use:

  (Nothing.)

• Why?

  Unless you have a hard deadline by which you will definitely add conference details, avoid saying anything at all - it's too vague.

Use plain English - avoid library jargon or words that aren't used in regular conversation.

• Avoid:

  Materials that cannot normally be obtained include entire periodicals, reference books, bulky or fragile items, rare materials, and materials from online databases where the user agreement does not allow Interlibrary Loan.

• Use:

  We cannot borrow items such as magazines, encyclopedias, bulky or fragile items, rare books, or articles from online databases that don't allow borrowing.

• Why?

  "Periodicals," "reference books," and "Interlibrary Loan" are library-specific terms that some users may not understand. The example rewrite also places responsibility for the service where it belongs (on us and other libraries), using more direct and active language.

• Avoid:

  The Libraries employ many individuals who are exceptionally capable, energetic, and visionary, and who are devoted to the success of the overall Library program.

• Use:

  Our faculty and staff are capable, energetic, visionary, and devoted to MSU Libraries' success.

• Why?

  We're talking about our people here - this language better centers and uplifts them. It also reads more like normal conversation.

Don't be too casual - avoid slang and emoji.

• Avoid:

  You can now bring stuff to the Circulation Desk and we will copy it for you. We think you'll love this service! :)

• Use:

  Bring items to the Circulation Desk and we will copy them for you.

• Why?

  We're aiming for a "business casual" voice, friendly yet professional. Unfortunately, professionals don't get to use smileys. Also, some users may not recognize a colon and parenthesis as a signal of a smiling face.

Make your text concise and scannable.

Web readers scan text rather than reading it as they might on paper.

Use no more than half of the words you might use in print. If you can cut a word, cut it.

• Avoid:

  Originally created in 2001 as a resource for teaching MSU faculty and students how to find and use government documents, this new and exciting LibGuide has evolved into a plethora of videos, blogs, RSS feeds, links to useful Websites, and links to books and materials within the Library which can be accessed by anyone via the Internet.

• Use:

  The United States Research Guide contains links to websites, videos, blogs, and MSU Libraries materials that can help you find and use government documents.

• Why?

  Most users are less interested in the history and marketing of the guide than in what it might contain and how it might help them.

Express one thought at a time and express it only once; avoid redundancy.

• Avoid:

  We offer electronic and physical reserves. Professors often leave items for class members to use behind the Circulation Desk in our Reserve section. Simply ask at the Information Desk to see the items.

• Use:

  Ask at the Circulation Desk to see an item your professor has placed on reserve for your class.

• Why?

  We don't need three sentences to express the main idea.

Don't add content for the sake of adding content - get to the point, then stop.

• Avoid:

  We offer lamination services for the price of $0.50 per foot. We are thrilled to be able to provide this service after a brief hiatus in which we replaced our laminating machine.

• Use:

  We can laminate your materials for 50 cents per foot.

• Why?

  This language is more direct and provides only the vital information.

Use keywords to improve scannability. Use these keywords as links. (And avoid "click here" - don't give directions, take them where they need to go!)

• Avoid:

  Click here: https://youtu.be/rbXca5xuF9Y to watch a tutorial about how to place holds on library materials.

• Use:

  Watch a video to learn how to place holds on library materials.

• Why?

  By the time screen reader software has read out the link and the text "Click here," users with low vision may have forgotten what they were clicking there to see.

Use bulleted and numbered lists to break up information into scannable chunks.

• Avoid:

  The library is unable to borrow required textbooks through Interlibrary loan. Most books, articles (as long as the request is copyright compliant), conference papers, proceedings, musical scores, newspapers on microfilm, videotapes, audio tapes, CDs, dissertations, and theses can be borrowed. Dissertation Express allows access to thousands of dissertations currently on file. Dissertation Express is a fee-based system, dissertations normally ranging between $28 and $36.

• Use:

  We can borrow:
  • Most books
  • Most articles, if the request complies with copyright laws
  • Conference papers and proceedings
  • Musical scores
  • Newspapers on microfilm
  • Videotapes, audiotapes, CDs
  • Theses and dissertations (fees apply)"

• Why?

  The eye glides more easily over the list; it uses fewer words and includes only the most relevant information.

Keep headlines short, and use brief but meaningful subheadings. Don't use links in headlines.

• Avoid:

  Books, Journals, Maps, CDs, DVDs, Electronic Books, etc.
  Search for Books, Journals, Maps, CDs, DVDs, Electronic Books, etc. using the Online Catalog

• Use:

  Online Catalog
  Search for books, journals, multimedia, ebooks, and more

• Why?

  The heading is short and to the point, and signals to the user that the content below it can get them to books, journals, etc.

Use bold to highlight words or sentences.

• Avoid:

  You should never, ever, EVER set fire to a library book.

• Use:

  You should never set fire to a library book.

• Why?

  Italics and underlining can make letters run together for some users. ALL CAPS can be construed as shouting or overreacting.

Use AP style.

For most grammatical and style considerations, including numbers, dates, and times, follow the Associated Press stylebook.

• Avoid:

  Classes begin 8/17.

• Use:

  Classes begin Aug. 17.

• Why?

  AP style is considered a popular standard for web writing, due to its versatility.

Provide a TL;DR.

Put your conclusions and most important info at the top of the page, with details further down. Avoid introductions and "welcomes" - just get to the point.