RDA Resources and Training

Adapted from J. McRee (Mac) Elrod's Monograph Cataloguing Cheat Sheet (RDA)

Desc:

• i = isbd (RDA)

040

• $e rda if an RDA record
• The order of fields is 040 $a $b $e $c $d

100/600/700

• Entry is under first author mentioned regardless of number
• Collections by different authors remain under title
• Name may be qualified in $c by occupation or profession if needed to distinguish, and date(s) not known
• Terms such as "Jr." included
• Less use of $q expanding initials or supplying missing forenames, but may be used to resolve a conflict
• Replace "b." and "d." with hyphens
• Use "active" instead of "fl.", which is no longer limited to pre 20th century
• Fictitious characters may now be authors

100/110/700/710 $e - Relationship Designators

• Addition to the name heading, $e author
• Commas precede $e
• Affects bibliographic records, not authorities
• Not required according to LCPS, except for illustrators of children's books

http://www.loc.gov/marc/relators/relaterm.html

e.g., $e actor, $e director.

• Use a period at end of entry
• Use a comma between terms

[Because the presence of these X00/X10 $e subfields may cause split files in client OPACs, and/or in a single list of titles following an entry, imply a relation to subsequent titles which only applies to the first title, care should be taken in their use.]

110/610/710

• Spell out "Dept."
• Remove $k uniform title for treaty entries
• The first country mentioned is the main entry for treaties
• If the work is the annual report of a corporate body, the report of a task force, or some such, the corporate body is the author

111

• If what you have is conference proceedings, the name of the conference is the author
• Append term, e.g., "(Conference)", if name of conference does not say it is a meeting, e.g., a set of initials
• Exclude year and number from 111 $a if part of name on item
• Frequency, e.g., "Annual", may be included
• Note relator terms are in $j not $e

130

• $p O.T. and $p N.T. removed from Bible heading and $p name of the individual books
• Old and New Testaments spelled out
• "Qur'an" replaces "Koran"

240

• Use "Works. Selections" instead of AACR2's "Selections". This comes into play with *two* or more works
• Only one language is allowed in the $l of a uniform title--no dual languages with ampersand, no "Polyglot" for three or more languages
• In music uniform titles, "violoncello" becomes "cello"

245

• Transcribe punctuation as found, e.g. "...", but add ISBD punctuation
• Use square brackets only for information not found in the item, regardless of source within the item
• [sic] or bracketed additional letters no longer used after typos. Create 246 with corrected title spellings
• No longer add defining word to ambiguous title, e.g. $b [poems], :$b [proceedings]
• GMD is obsolete and will not validate in a record coded RDA; feel free to use them locally
• All authors may be transcribed in the statement of responsibility
• The RDA minimum for statements of responsibility is one from each category, e.g. authors, illustrators, editors. There is no upper limit. The RDA phrase is [and # others]
• Option: Transcribe capitalization as it appears in the title
• If there is no collective title, supply one in square brackets

245 $b

• Other title information not a core element (not required)

245 $h [GMD]

• No longer used. Replaced by 336-338
• Feel free to use them locally in your own ILS

245 / $c

• May transcribe all authors, regardless of number, but may transcribe fewer followed by [and # others]
• In the case of a compilation with collective or supplied title, transcribe statements of responsibilities after titles in 505
• Optional: Transcribe affiliations, degrees, titles, "Jr.", "Rev.", "the late", etc.
• There is no required correlation between authors transcribed in 245, 500, 505, 508, or 511 and traced authors, i.e. one may have untraced authors in the description, and unjustified author added entries
• There is no minimum number of authors which must be transcribed and traced
• A noun phrase *associated* with the author is included in $c, e.g., 245 10 $a Burr / $c a novel by Gore Vidal, but 245 10 $a Burr : $b a novel / $c Gore Vidal

250

• Transcribe as it appears and do not abbreviate unless it appears that way e.g., 2nd ed., Revised edition, First Edition
• Field is now repeatable
• Transcribing what appears may result in double period after an abbreviation, e.g. "ed.." Consider omitting this gratuity.

260/264

• Use new 264 field with indicators intead of 260
• Do not use copyright date as a year of publication (e.g. c2013). Instead estimate publication (e.g. [2013]) and supply copyright date in a repeated 264 #4 with copyright symbol preceding the date
• May transcribe all places of publication in repeating $a
• Transcribe full names of publishers
• Do not use [S.l.], [s.n.], or [n.d.], but the RDA equivalents of [Place of publication not identified], [publisher not identified], [date of publication not identified]
• Bracket adjacent element in the same field, e.g., 264 $a [United States] : $b [publisher not identified], $c [2010?]

For producer or unpublished materials use:

264 #0 $a Place :$b Name, $c year.

For published materials use:

264 #1 $a Place :$b Name, $c year.

For distributor or aggregator of e-books

264 #2 $a Place : $b Name, $ c year.

For maker of equipment, e.g. Kobo or Kindle:

264 #3 $a Place : $b Name, $c year.

Assign only if copyright year differs from publication year, even if publication year in brackets:

264 #4 $c ©year

264 #4 $c copyright year

264 #4 $c (phonogram symbol) year

300 - Collation

• Spell out abbreviations such as "p.", "v.", "ill." "col."
• Retain cm, km, m without a period, as they are considered symbols, not abbreviations
• "hr", "in.", "min.", "rpm", "sec." still allowed
• Follow cm with a period only if 490 follows immediately after

336-338

• Core element in an RDA record
• Use in place of the 245 $h [GMD]
• When multiple terms are required, one may have either repeating fields or repeating $a in one field
• OCLC prefers $b codes

336 Content type

• RDA offers three options for content terms: give all which apply, e.g. "text, still image" for an illustrated manifestation; all which are significant, e.g., "still image, text" for an art exhibition catalogue; or predominant only, e.g., either "text" or "still image", depending on which is a larger part of the manifestation

337 Media type

338 Carrier type

490 $v

• Transcribe as found rather than abbreviate, e.g., $v volume …, $v C

502

• Thesis note has subfields

502 $a Thesis or Dissertation $b (Degree) $c Institution. $dyear.

504

• Spell out abbreviation p. to pages
• Optional: Separation of bibliography and index into separate notes, e.g. 500 $a Includes index. and 504 $a Bibliography: pages 100-109. replacing 504 $a Includes bibliographic references (pages 100-109) and index.

588

• Source of description if outside item

600

• Includes all personal names, e.g., fictitious persons, God

700

• Optional: trace all authors as opposed to only 2nd and 3rd
• First author, translator of poetry, and illustrator of children's material are required 7XX access points

7XX analytics

• RDA adds $i contains (work), or $i contains (expression) before $a
• This may confuse patrons, and create split files; consider not assigning and supress from display

When You Can Abbreviate

Before RDA was implemented, catalogers were constantly being warned that we wouldn’t be able to abbreviate anything in a RDA record. As it turns out, that’s not exactly true.

Here’s a few guidelines for determining what can and cannot be abbreviated in a RDA record:

1. When transcribing from the resource, you can abbreviate a word if it is also abbreviated on the resource. For example, if “edition” is abbreviated in the book, you can abbreviate it in the 250 field. Another example is if the word “General” is abbreviated on the title page ( “by Gen. John Elliott”), then you can abbreviate the rank in the Statement of Responsibility (245 |c).
2. Dimensions and duration can still be abbreviated, so you can always abbreviate inch (in.), minutes (min.), and hour (hr.).
3. However, other terms such as ‘illustration’, ‘genealogy table’, ‘portraits’, and ‘pages’ must always be spelled out.

When You Can Use Brackets

In the Statement of Responsibility (245 |c): In AACR2, any part of the statement of responsibility that was not taken from the chief source of information had to be placed in brackets and the source given in a 500 note field. In RDA, you only need to use the brackets if the statement of responsibility is taken from someplace other than the resource itself. The preferred source for the statement of responsibility is the source of the title proper, but you can also get the information from elsewhere on the resource and still not have to put the statement in brackets or reference the source in a 500 note field.

If supplying a date of publication or production (264 |c): If the publication or production date is not clearly stated on the resource, you can ‘supply’ the date, if you’re sure of it, and put it in brackets.

Example:

When describing unnumbered pages in the 300 field: Do not use brackets when noting pagination. Instead, use the words “unnumbered pages”
Example:

When supplying series numeration not found on the resource (490 |v): Continue to put this information in brackets, just like in AACR2, and add a 500 note identifying the source.
Example: