Marketing and Industry, Company, and Market Analysis Research Guide

Marketing Research and Analysis:  looks at a broader view than consumer research. Marketing research looks at the market as a whole including competitors of companies. Simply put it looks at the customers you want to target as part of your business.

Consumer Research and Analysis: looks at what customers want and their overall behavior. Looking at customer behavior is important because it allows companies to understand more what their potential customers want.

Here are some tips on searching the MSU databases for Consumer and Marketing Research:

Business Source Complete

• For Business Source Complete, you use the search bar at the top to search by keyword, title, company entity, NAICS code, etc. You can then limit the search under "publication type" of the advance search or "source types" of the basic search to marketing reports.
• Try combining a keyword search for an industry along with the term  "Consumer behavior"
  • example: Pet Supplies and Consumer Behavior

IBISWorld

• For IBISWorld search for an industry and the reports will highlight performance, outlook, influences, etc.

Gale Business: Entrepreneurship

• For Gale Business: Entrepreneurship, click on advance search under the search bar; on the field drop down tab you can select and search by: Brand Name, Company Name, SIC Code, NAICS Code, etc.  Under "Document Type" you can also limit the search to "market overview" and "market share report".
• Try combining a keyword search for an industry along with the term  "Consumer".
  • example: Pet Supplies and Consumer

Other Useful MSU Library Databases for Consumer and Marketing Information

Gale Business Insights: Global

• For Gale Business Insights: Global, click on advance search under the search bar; on the field drop down tab you can select and search by: Brand Name, Company Name, SIC Code, NAICS Code, etc.  Under "Content Type" in the advance search you can also limit the search to "market research reports".

Hospitality & Tourism Complete (EBSCO)

• Try combining a keyword search for an industry along with the term  "Consumer behavior"
  • example: Hotel industry and Consumer Behavior

Consumer Research

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics: American Time Use Survey

The American Time Use Survey (ATUS) measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing.

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics: Consumer Expenditure Surveys

The Consumer Expenditure Surveys (CE) program provides data on expenditures, income, and demographic characteristics of consumers in the United States.

Pew Research Center

Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. [They] conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. [They] do not take policy positions.

Marketing Research

County Business Patterns (U.S. Census Bureau)

County Business Patterns (CBP) is an annual series that provides subnational economic data for establishments with paid employees by industry and employment size.

Explore Census Data (U.S. Census Bureau)

Search the data from the United States Census.

Quick Facts (U.S. Census Bureau)

Facts about people, business, and geography by state, county, and city. QuickFacts includes statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with more than 5,000 people.

QWI Explorer (U.S. Census Bureau)

Quarterly Workforce Indicators (QWI) Explorer includes total employment, measures of change such as job flow, new hires, and separations, and average earnings. QWI Online provides detailed demographics, detailed geography and state totals, NAICS sector, 3- and 4-digit industries, and more.

Statistical Abstracts Series (U.S. Census Bureau)

Statistical Abstract data present here ranges from our most recent edition to the historical abstracts compiled throughout the decades.

 Zip Codes Business Patterns (U.S. Census Bureau)

ZIP Codes Business Patterns provides annual statistics for businesses with paid employees within the U.S. at the ZIP Code level.