Research Guides: Political Science: Political Analysis : For Faculty

Center for Teaching & Learning (CTL) Workshops

Center for Teaching and Learning
Our mission is to foster a university culture where quality teaching and engaged learning is revered and practiced. Our faculty development programs and service emphasize knowledge, techniques, and issues related to teaching and learning. We look forward to seeing you at our events.

Access and Information

All information is provided by the Access and Information FAQs page

Electronic Reserve Access
Reserve Online
Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
Request articles, books, & other media from a growing network of participating institutions.

Funding Quick Links

Set Up Customized Alerts

When you set up your customized alerts, you can remain current with publications in your research area; see your own publications; and you can see how many times an article/scholar has been cited.

Special thanks to Bradley Brazzeal for the information provided in this section.

Search Alerts

Search Alerts: when new articles in your research area are added, you will receive these alerts. This step-by-step list shows you how to create Search Alerts in EBSCO databases. Many non-EBSCO databases also allow you to set up alerts.

Set up an EBSCO profile by clicking on "Sign In" at the top of the database's page
Click on "Create a New Account" - You should NOT use your MSU ID and Password for this!
Perform your search
Click on "Alert/Save/Share"
Choose an option under "Create an Alert"
Set your alert preferences

Table of Contents Alerts

Table of Contents Alerts: these provide immediate notification when new issues of your favorite journals become available.

Go to the publisher's website
Find the journal's homepage
Look for a link to sign up for Table of Contents Alerts: instructions vary by publisher

Instructional Support

MSU Libraries Schedule of Events and Workshops
See what events and workshops are taking place in the Library. The schedule includes sessions that benefit students and faculty alike; they range from acquiring software & technology skills to specific topics for graduate students.
How to Place Materials on Reserve
This collection includes books, photocopies, video & sound recordings, instructors' old tests, & class notes.
Request a Library Instruction Session
Library instruction sessions can guide your students through the research process, empower them with basic library skills, and teac them how to identify appropriate research materials. Instruction sessions can also be based on your goals for meeting various classes' needs.
Reserve a Room for Your Class
Reserve space for multimedia classrooms, meeting rooms, presentations & seminars.

Featured Materials

Student Writing in the Quantitative Disciplines by Patrick Bahls
Call Number: QA20.M38B342012
ISBN: 9780470952122
Publication Date: 2012-03-06
From the summary: "The book introduces readers in the often-overlooked math-related fields to the ideas of writing-to-learn (WTL) and writing in the disciplines (WID). It offers a guide to the pedagogy of writing in the mathematical sciences, and gives theoretically grounded means by which writing can be used to help undergraduate students to understand mathematical concepts at all levels of study. The author equips instructors with the practical skills necessary to guide their students in writing well in math-based courses at all levels of the college curriculum, addressing various genres of mathematical writing (research articles, expository articles, abstracts, literature reviews, pedagogical writing), and provides the criteria for assessment."

Subject Guide

Kate Gregory

Subjects: Political Science and Public Administration

Library update: Recent database changes

Political Science: Political Analysis