Research Guides: Political Science: Political Analysis : Online Resources

International Resources

International Labour Organization
"The main aims of the ILO are to promote rights at work, encourage decent employment opportunities, enhance social protection and strengthen dialogue on work-related issues." This site includes databases and statistics, as well as key documents from international proceedings.
World Trade Organization
"There are a number of ways of looking at the World Trade Organization. It is an organization for trade opening. It is a forum for governments to negotiate trade agreements. It is a place for them to settle trade disputes. It operates a system of trade rules. Essentially, the WTO is a place where member governments try to sort out the trade problems they face with each other."
The United Nations
"The United Nations is an international organization founded in 1945 after the Second World War by 51 countries committed to maintaining international peace and security, developing friendly relations among nations and promoting social progress, better living standards and human rights."

Primary Source Materials Available from the MSU Libraries

Below are links to various portions of the MSU Libraries Special Collections. These areas contain primary source materials which may be helpful to PSPA students and their research.

Mississippi Political Collections
Located on the 4th floor of the Mitchell Memorial Library, the Congressional and Political Research Center houses the papers of former members of Congress, such as John C. Stennis, Sonny Montgomery, David Bowen and Mike Espy. It also contains records of many state politicians and political parties.
Manuscripts-Special Collections
Located on the third floor of the Mitchell Memorial Library, the Manuscripts area of Special Collections contains the papers of various political parties, journalists, and activists from throughout the state of Mississippi.
Ulysses S. Grant Presidential Library
Located on the 4th floor of the Mitchell Memorial Library, the Ulysses S. Grant Collection offers over 15,000 linear feet of materials dealing with the Civil War and Presidential career of U. S. Grant. The material offers an interesting look into the administration of Reconstruction as well as the Civil War.

Statistics and Data Sets Available Online

American FactFinder
American FactFinder is the portal to the major products of the Census Bureau, including the decennial census, the American Community Survey, the economic census, annual population estimates, and annual economic surveys.
Data.gov
The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets.
FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data)
FRED is a database of over 3000 U.S. economic time series, including price indexes, interest rates, exchange rates, monetary indicators and more. With FRED® you can download data in Microsoft Excel and text formats and view charts of data series.
Statistical Abstract of the United States, 1878-Current
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
U. S. Census Bureau, Subjects A-Z
Comprehensive list of Subject Headings in the U. S. Census.
ICPSR
"Online data analysis allows users to:

-Search for variables of interest in a dataset
-Review frequencies or summary statistics of key variables to determine what further analyses are appropriate
-Review frequencies or summary statistics for missing data
-Produce simple summary statistics for reports
-Create statistical tables and charts from raw data
-Create a subset of cases or variables from a large collection to save time and storage space when downloading to a personal computer
-Browse the electronic codebook"
Open States Online Searchable Data
Historic Census of Population And Housing
Mississippi State House and Senate Maps
U.S. Department of Labor
The Gallup Organization
New York Times Polls
Pew Research Center for People & the Press
Kaiser Family Foundation Polls
Public Opinion Poll Question Database courtesy of UNC
NCES (National Center for Education Statistics)
NCES (National Center for Education Statistics) Custom Data Sets and Tables
NCES International Data Table Library
United States Legislative Information

Online Journals available at the MSU Libraries

Other Journal Titles for PSPA

The following titles are available electronically and in bound copies on the First Floor of the Mitchell Memorial Library

Additional Data Sets

The Book of the States, published by the Council of State Governments, helps you find analysis and comparative information on a wide range of topics. The book not only focuses on historical data, but also highlights trends in various state public policy areas. (JK2403 .B62)

The State Politics and Politics Quarterly Database The primary purpose of State Politics and Policy Quarterly is to foster and promote the rigorous, theoretically driven and methodologically sound study of political behavior and policy at the state level.

Subject Guide

Kate Gregory

Subjects: Political Science and Public Administration

Library update: Recent database changes

Political Science: Political Analysis