Music

Provides descriptions of concert programme collections held by leading libraries, archives and museums in the UK. The database is intended as a guide to finding programme collections, rather than providing full details of the content of individual programs.

DDM-Online is an international database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines.

The Performing Arts Encyclopedia (PAE) is a guide to performing arts resources at the Library of Congress. The PAE provides information about the Library's unsurpassed collections of scores, sheet music, audio recordings, films, photographs, etc.

This guide provides a basis for beginning online research on a variety of topics in music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, music theory, composition, and performance practice. It collects links to archival collections, online scores and sound recordings, article indexes, discographies and bibliographies, scholarly societies, musical reference works, and a miscellany of useful websites.

This database offers around 700,000 mainly manuscript sources cataloged in detail according to academic criteria. The manuscripts are stored in hundreds of libraries and archives around the world. The database is searchable by composer, librettist, work title, performing ensemble, place, date, collection owners, and even composition dedicatees.

A central portal for music and musicology, enabling access to an extensive digital library containing the latest scholarly research and online resources. Using a single search engine you can find bibliographical data, full text data, and information about experts in musicology.

Compiled by the American Musicological Society, these websites are grouped under 32 categories, including "Opera and Song", "Choirs", "Composers and Composition", and "Theory".

Includes arrangements for bands or small orchestras of popular songs.

The main strengths of this collection are American music and German music between 1914-1945. Within those groups are composers and performers of classical music, composers for the musical theater, and jazz performers and arrangers.

At the AAAMC, you will find materials covering a range of African American musical idioms and cultural expressions primarily from the post-World War II era. The collections highlight popular, religious, and classical music, with genres ranging from blues and gospel to R&B and contemporary hip hop. The AAAMC also houses extensive materials related to the documentation of black radio.

The Chicago Jazz Archive was founded in 1976 to preserve materials on the birth and early growth of Chicago jazz. Over time, and benefiting from a relationship with the Jazz Institute of Chicago, the collections have grown to span more than eight decades of Chicago and general jazz history. The collections include recordings, publications, photographs, articles, posters, programs, ticket stubs, and other ephemera of musicians, clubs, record companies, and jazz organizations.

The DME will provide world wide access to the complete works of Wolfgang Amadé Mozart (1756–1791) in digital form via the internet for study and performance purposes.

Explore music recordings, pieces of sheet music and other music items from across Europe.

This database points to roughly 2,300 music archives.

Preeminent music research collection that includes book, scores, and recordings, a world music archive, the world's largest collection of Turkish and Indian classical music, and extensive Mozart archives.

Provides online access to the world's most valued music manuscripts and print materials held in renowned music archives. Researchers can search or browse materials, access information about each item, and view digital images.

The digital arts collection of the Library of Congress.

An outlet for historical information which will eventually cover from the earliest concerts to 1970. Currently, the site focuses on 1943-1970 and includes over 3,220 programs, 1,365 scores, 4,200 images, and 330 business documents.

The New York Public Library's performing arts collection online: a searchable database of 16,000 objects, including newspaper clippings, photographs, music sheet samples, publicity posters, and lobby cards.

The online presentation of the Aaron Copland Collection at the Library of Congress comprises both manuscript and printed music, personal and business correspondence, diaries, writings, scrapbooks, programs, newspaper and magazine clippings, etc.

One of the world's major repositories of primary source material related to the composer with digital images of selected resources from its holdings.

The website presents a digitized select portion of the 400,000 items available in the collection, including correspondence, program scripts, photographs, etc.

This website offers impressive scholarly biographical and musicological information about Beethoven and his works, quoting extensively from primary sources and reputable secondary sources. Information is organized by dozens of topics including the genesis and history of Beethoven's works (all of his piano sonatas, string quartets, symphonies, etc.), musicians' writings about Beethoven, and biographical information of Beethoven's friends and patrons.

This manuscript is Mozart's record of his compositions in the last seven years of his life, and thus is a uniquely important document. According to the description on the front cover, Mozart planned to include all his compositions, but there are a few minor omissions. There are also entries in the catalogue for a number of works that have since been lost.

Provides general news about the arts (dance, music, theatre, visual, etc.) with blogs and articles from more than 200 newspapers, magazines, and other publications.

This website keeps track of live classical concerts and opera performances worldwide. Upcoming performances are searchable by musician, orchestra, composer, place, and date.

This site includes streaming radio, news, interviews, reviews, and music articles.

The award-winning series encompasses operas, concerts, ballet, and other performances by firstclass orchestras, musicians, and conductors. The website includes information about the PBS series, streaming videos, and season schedule.

All Music Guide features reviews, announcements of new releases, and details about recordings from a variety of genres. It can be especially useful for finding information about an out-of-print recording.

Provides an archive of video and audio performances of the Boston Symphony Orchestra dating back to 2007. In addition, there are program notes, iTunes offerings, and several guides (e.g., "The Complete Symphonies" of Beethoven)

A major site featuring more than 9,000 pages and 20,000 images with more than 6,000 CD, SACD, DVD, Blu-ray and book reviews.

Provides access to digitized sound recordings, including 10,000 Victor label recordings produced between 1901 and 1925, including folk, popular, and operatic repertoire.

Promotes awareness of African Heritage in Classical Music. Includes links to information about Black History and composers and musicians of African descent.

This index of composers is most useful for identifying musical influences, period, and influences on other composers.

Provides access to a 5-part series of films showcasing composers, pianists, chamber music, virtuosos and conductors. Includes biographies and discographies of each of the participating musicians, and musical examples.

Contains an A-Z listing of Russian composers who lived and composed in the Soviet era (post 1918). Each composer page includes brief biographical information, but ultimately focuses on providng an exhaustive works list and discography. Much of this compiled information is not available elsewhere and some of the obscure composers are not represented in such sources as New Grove's.

Offers practical information about buying and selling instruments and research aids for various musical instruments.

A dictionary of music terms with definitions and comments. Translations of non-English words and phrases are supplied.

Geared for trained musicians, this site can be searched for classical themes, motives, and other tunes.

A comprehensive resource for jazz fans and musicians, this site includes lists of articles, columns, CD and book reviews, musician interviews, new releases, and links to other jazz-related resources on the Web.

Each month the site explores a different aspect of listening to music, using key works to illustrate.

Provides an extensive listing of resources to aid in collection development for Music Collections.