Research Guides: College of Veterinary Medicine Research Guide: Find Articles

Find Articles

Scopus
This multidisciplinary database is "the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature."
- Over 90 million records of journal articles, conference papers, and more
- Good coverage of all areas of STEM, as well as social sciences, engineering, and business.
- Offers sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research
Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary research database that indexes thousands of journals, magazines, and trade publications. Primary coverage back to the 1990s, but some content goes back much further.
AGRICOLA
Indexes USDA publications, core journals in agricultural and related sciences, and items acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions. Primary coverage is back to 1970, with some coverage back to the early 1900s.
Biological Abstracts
This database provides abstracts to journal articles covering all aspects of the life sciences, including the environmental sciences.
- This EBSCO version provides coverage back to 1990.
- Access is limited to 5 simultaneous users.
PubMed
World's largest medical database, with records to articles back to the 1940s and beyond. Good coverage of both human and animal medicine, physiology and related fields.
- Accessing PubMed through this link will allow you to view "Find It" links, which help you find the full text.
- The National Library of Medicine offers numerous PubMed tutorials.
- Most of PubMed's content is also in Scopus, though PubMed has some special search features.

Developing Effective Searches

**Boolean Searching**
This ...	Searches for ...
otters AND diet	both terms
otters OR beavers	either term
diet*	diet, diets, dietary, etc.
"river otter"	the words together
pigs NOT guinea [In Scopus: pigs AND NOT guinea]	records with the 1st term that do not also have the 2nd term

These can be combined in search boxes as follows:

	"north american river otter*" OR "Lontra canadensis"
AND	diet* OR nutrition*

Other tips:

Limit results by year of publication (useful when going through large number of results).
Sort by relevance (default in most databases, but not in Scopus).
Look for subject terms/index terms that can help you fine-tune your search.

Library update: Recent database changes

College of Veterinary Medicine Research Guide

Find Articles

Developing Effective Searches