Research Guides: Citation Guides: Chicago/Turabian

Guides in the Catalog

The Chicago Manual of Style by University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff
Call Number: REF Z253 .U69 2017 (also online)
ISBN: 9780226287058
Publication Date: 2017-09-05
Technologies may change, but the need for clear and accurate communication never goes out of style. That is why for more than one hundred years The Chicago Manual of Style has remained the definitive guide for anyone who works with words. In the seven years since the previous edition debuted, we have seen an extraordinary evolution in the way we create and share knowledge. This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords. It recognizes the needs of those who are self-publishing or following open access or Creative Commons publishing models. The citation chapters reflect the ever-expanding universe of electronic sources--including social media posts and comments, private messages, and app content--and also offer updated guidelines on such issues as DOIs, time stamps, and e-book locators. Other improvements are independent of technological change. The chapter on grammar and usage includes an expanded glossary of problematic words and phrases and a new section on syntax as well as updated guidance on gender-neutral pronouns and bias-free language. Key sections on punctuation and basic citation style have been reorganized and clarified. To facilitate navigation, headings and paragraph titles have been revised and clarified throughout. And the bibliography has been updated and expanded to include the latest and best resources available. This edition continues to reflect expert insights gathered from Chicago's own staff and from an advisory board of publishing experts from across the profession. It also includes suggestions inspired by emails, calls, and even tweets from readers. No matter how much the means of communication change, The Chicago Manual of Style remains the ultimate resource for those who care about getting the details right.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Ninth Edition by Gregory G. Colomb (Revised by); Joseph M. Williams (Revised by); Joseph Bizup (Revised by); William T. FitzGerald (Revised by); The University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff (Revised by); Kate L. Turabian; Wayne C. Booth (Revised by)
Call Number: LB2369 .T8 2018
ISBN: 9780226494425
Publication Date: 2018-04-16
When Kate L. Turabian first put her famous guidelines to paper, she could hardly have imagined the world in which today's students would be conducting research. Yet while the ways in which we research and compose papers may have changed, the fundamentals remain the same: writers need to have a strong research question, construct an evidence-based argument, cite their sources, and structure their work in a logical way. A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations--also known as "Turabian"--remains one of the most popular books for writers because of its timeless focus on achieving these goals. This new edition filters decades of expertise into modern standards. While previous editions incorporated digital forms of research and writing, this edition goes even further to build information literacy, recognizing that most students will be doing their work largely or entirely online and on screens. Chapters include updated advice on finding, evaluating, and citing a wide range of digital sources and also recognize the evolving use of software for citation management, graphics, and paper format and submission. The ninth edition is fully aligned with the recently released Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition, as well as with the latest edition of The Craft of Research. Teachers and users of the previous editions will recognize the familiar three-part structure. Part 1 covers every step of the research and writing process, including drafting and revising. Part 2 offers a comprehensive guide to Chicago's two methods of source citation: notes-bibliography and author-date. Part 3 gets into matters of editorial style and the correct way to present quotations and visual material. A Manual for Writers also covers an issue familiar to writers of all levels: how to conquer the fear of tackling a major writing project. Through eight decades and millions of copies, A Manual for Writers has helped generations shape their ideas into compelling research papers. This new edition will continue to be the gold standard for college and graduate students in virtually all academic disciplines.

Chicago-Reference Examples

The Chicago Manual of Style supports two types of reference styles: the Author-Date system and the Notes and Bibliography system (also used in the Turabian system). Traditionally, those in the humanities have preferred the Notes and Bibliography system, those in the sciences the Author-Date system, and the social sciences may use either, depending on the field and journal. The Author-Date System used in this guide corresponds to the “R” or reference system used in The Chicago Manual of Style. The Notes and Bibliography System corresponds to the “B” or bibliography system. Note: when using the Turabian/Notes and Bibliography method, numbered citations should be in superscript format.

For additional questions concerning citation style or resources, please contact the Ready Reference Desk on the second floor of the Mitchell Memorial Library (662-325-7667 or rio@library.msstate.edu.)

This guide is based on The Chicago Manual of Style, 17^th ed., 2017. (A copy of the print version is available at the Ready Reference Desk, under the call number Z253 .U69 2017). Note that all material cited in this guide is available in the Mississippi State University Libraries print or electronic collections.

Book or monograph, single author:

Author-Date System:

Barrett, Michelle. 2001. Star Trek: The Human Frontier. New York: Routledge.

(Barrett 2001, 99-100)

Notes and Bibliography System:

1. Michelle Barrett, Star Trek: The Human Frontier (New York: Routledge, 2001), 99-100.

2. Barrett, Star Trek, 6.

Barrett, Michelle. Star Trek: The Human Frontier. New York: Routledge, 2001.

Book or monograph, more than one author:

Author-Date System:

Sekuler, Robert, and Randolph Blake. 1998. Star Trek on the Brain: Alien Minds, Human Minds. New York, W. H. Freeman.

(Sekuler and Blake 1998, 47)

*Note: for four or more authors, list all authors in the reference but only the first and "et al." in the in-text reference.

Notes and Bibliography System:

1. Robert Sekuler and Randolph Blake, Star Trek on the Brain: Alien Minds, Human Minds (New York: W.H. Freeman, 1998), 47.

2. Sekuler and Blake, Star Trek on the Brain, 48.

Sekuler, Robert, and Randolph Blake. Star Trek on the Brain: Alien Minds, Human Minds. New York: W. H. Freeman, 1998.

Chapter from a book:

Author-Date System:

Kreitzer, Larry. 1999. "Suffering, Sacrifice and Redemption: Biblical Imagery in Star Trek." In Star Trek and Sacred Ground: Explorations of Star Trek, Religion, and American Culture, edited by Jennifer E. Porter and Darcee L. McLaren, 139-163. Albany, NY: State University of New York Press.

(Kreitzer 1999, 141)

Notes and Bibliography System:

1. Larry Kreitzer, “Suffering, Sacrifice and Redemption: Biblical Imagery in Star Trek,” in Star Trek and Sacred Ground: Explorations of Star Trek, Religion, and American Culture, ed. Jennifer E. Porter and Darcee L. McLaren (Albany, NY: State University of New York Press, 1999), 141.

2. Kreitzer, "Suffering," 158-159.

Kreitzer, Larry, “Suffering, Sacrifice and Redemption: Biblical Imagery in Star Trek.” In Star Trek and Sacred Ground: Explorations of Star Trek, Religion, and American Culture, edited by Jennifer E. Porter and Darcee L. McLaren, 139-163. Albany, NY: State University of New York Press, 1999.

Article from a print journal:

Author-Date System:

Ott, Brian and Eric Aoki. 2001. "Popular Imagination and Identity Politics: Reading the Future in Star Trek: The Next Generation." Western Journal of Communication 65 (4): 392-415.

(Ott and Aoki 2001, 400)

Notes and Bibliography System:

1. Brian Ott and Eric Aoki, " "Popular Imagination and Identity Politics: Reading the Future in Star Trek: The Next Generation," Western Journal of Communication 65, no. 4 (2001): 395.

2. Ott and Aoki, "Popular Imagination," 397.

Ott, Brian and Eric Aoki, “Popular Imagination and Identity Politics: Reading the Future in Star Trek: The Next Generation.” Western Journal of Communication 65, no. 4 (2001): 392-415.

Article from an online journal:

Author-Date System:

Cantor, Paul. 2000. "Shakespeare in the Original Klingon: Star Trek and the End of History." Perspectives on Political Science 29 (3): 158-166. Accessed March 3, 2015. doi:10.1080/10457090009600707.

(Cantor 2000, 162)

Notes and Bibliography System:

1. Paul Cantor, “Shakespeare in the Original Klingon: Star Trek and the End of History,” Perspectives on Political Science 29, no. 3 (2000): 159, accessed March 5, 2015, doi:10.1080/10457090009600707.

2. Cantor, "Shakespeare," 162.

Cantor, Paul. “Shakespeare in the Original Klingon: Star Trek and the End of History.” Perspectives on Political Science 29, no. 3 (2000): 158-166. Accessed March 5, 2015, doi:10.1080/10457090009600707.

Newspaper and magazine articles in print:

These can usually be omitted from the reference list if cited in the text.

Author-Date System:

Barnes, Brooks. 2013. "Paramount Hopes New 'Star Trek' Is a Global Crowd-Pleaser." New York Times, May 3.

(Barnes 2013, B1)

Notes and Bibliography System:

1. Brooks Barnes, "Paramount Hopes New 'Star Trek' Is a Global Crowd-Pleaser," New York Times, May 3, 2013, B1.

2. Barnes, "Paramount Hopes," B1.

Barnes, Brooks. 2013. "Paramount Hopes New 'Star Trek' Is a Global Crowd-Pleaser." New York Times, May 3.

Newspaper and magazine articles online:

Author-Date System:

Lee, Stephan. 2015. "George Takei Says Leonard Nimoy Was 'The Most Human Person I've Ever Met' -- Exclusive," Entertainment Weekly, March 2. Accessed March 3, 2015. http://www.ew.com/article/2015/03/02/george-takei-says-leonard-nimoy-was-most-human-person-ive-ever-met-exclusive

(Lee 2015)

Notes and Bibliography System:

1. Stephan Lee, "George Takei Says Leonard Nimoy Was 'The Most Human Person I've Ever Met' -- Exclusive," Entertainment Weekly, March 2, 2015, accessed March 3, 2015, http://www.ew.com/article/2015/03/02/george-takei-says-leonard-nimoy-was-most-human-person-ive-ever-met-exclusive.

2. Lee, "George Takei."

Lee, Stephan. "George Takei Says Leonard Nimoy Was 'The Most Human Person I've Ever Met' -- Exclusive," Entertainment Weekly, March 2, 2015. Accessed March 3, 2015. http://www.ew.com/article/2015/03/02/george-takei-says-leonard-nimoy-was-most-human-person-ive-ever-met-exclusive.

Website (or a portion of a website):

A mention of the website in the text is usually sufficient ("In a February 27, 2015 article on Leonard Nimoy's passing, Entertainment Weekly said..."). Websites can also be cited in the following examples. Include a date of access or modification.

Author-Date System:

Ottens, Nick. 2015. "Forgotten Trek: Designing the Enterprise-C." Accessed March 3, 2015. http://www.startrek.com/article/forgotten-trek-designing-the-enterprise-c.

(Ottens 2015)

Notes and Bibliography System:

1. Nick Ottens, "Forgotten Trek: Designing the Enterprise-C," accessed March 3, 2015, http://www.startrek.com/article/forgotten-trek-designing-the-enterprise-c.

2. Ottens, "Forgotten Trek."

Ottens, Nick. “Forgotten Trek: Designing the Enterprise-C.” Accessed March 3, 2015. http://www.startrek.com/article/forgotten-trek-designing-the-enterprise-c.

Additional Online Information

Chicago Manual of Style Online
This website is provided by The University of Chicago Press (publishers of the Chicago Manual of Style) and provides additional help in manuscript preparation and citing sources.
Turabian Citation Guide
This website is published by the University Press of Chicago and offers a concise guide to Kate Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations.
The New Purdue OWL Website
More information on research, citations and formatting in Chicago and Turabian Style from the Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL).

Library update: Recent database changes

Citation Guides

Guides in the Catalog

Chicago-Reference Examples

Additional Online Information