Skip to main content
We are here to help:

Library Resources for AELC 3203

Library Databases for Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles

The MSU Libraries subscribes to many databases that are provided by the company EBSCO. Each database differs in the content that it covers, but the interfaces are similar in many ways.

Note: If you are accessing library databases when off-campus, you should first log into the MSU VPN (Virtual Private Network) that ITS provides.  This will give you the same access as if you were on-campus. ITS provides step-by-step set-up instructions.

Search Tips

When entering search terms, don't enter long phrases, but think about the keywords related to the search.

Topic: The safety of food bought in farmers markets

 

Screenshot showing the following search string in Academic Search Complete: "farmers market*" AND (safety OR disease*)

 

Here's what the different things in this search do:

  • Quotation marks: to search a phrase
  • AND: to search for both terms
  • OR: to search for either term
  • Asterisk (*): to search for any word that begins with those letters

Limiting Search Results in EBSCO Databases

In EBSCO databases, you will see on the left ways to limit your results by publication type and by year. To limit to peer-reviewed journals, look for Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" or "Academic Journals" limiters.

The year limiter can be useful if you only want to view results from say that past 5 years. Or if you have a large number of results to go through, you might want to go through the results at different times, looking at certain years each time.

 

Screenshot showing search results and limiters for peer review and publication years in EBSCO databases

 

Finding the Full Text

In EBSCO database, you will often see direct links to the PDFs of articles. Other times, click on the Find It button.

Find It Page showing links to see print availability and to request through Interlibrary Loan

If the library does not have the article either in our print or online collection, you can then request it through Interlibrary Loan, which is a service where we can get it from another library for you.

  • Click on the Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) link.
  • If you have already created your ILLiad profile, the article information form will be mainly filled out. Just look for any missing information (such as page numbers).
  • Submit the request
  • Access Services will send you an email when it's ready.
  • Log into Interlibrary Loan (link on homepage) and click on Electronically Received Articles on the left.

Note the following:

  • In almost all cases, Interlibrary Loan is a free service, and we would let you know if we couldn't get an article for your for free. 
  • You can usually get articles in 1-2 business days (though sometimes it takes longer).