Image Use & Citation

​The Archives of American Art is the world’s preeminent and most widely used research center dedicated to collecting, preserving, and providing access to primary sources that document the history of the visual arts in America.

Art Images for College Teaching (AICT) began as a personal project dedicated to the principle of free exchange of image resources for and among members of the educational community. While the images in this collection are believed to be of public domain works, there is a remote possibility that secondary works still in copyright may have been incidentally documented as well. If you decide to use any of this collection, you are responsible for making your own legal assessment and securing any necessary permission.

This Code of Best Practices provides visual-arts professionals with a set of principles addressing best practices in the fair use of copyrighted materials. It describes how fair use can be invoked and implemented when using copyrighted materials in scholarship, teaching, museums, archives, and in the creation of art.

Harvests mainly the Manuscripts collections we contributed to ASERL's Deeply Rooted project, via the regional hub Digital Library of Georgia. (Contact via GALILEO)

Includes artists’ sketchbooks, drawings and watercolors, rare prints from the 16th through the 18th century, 19th-century architectural drawings of cultural landmarks, and early photographs of the Middle East and Asia. Available to the public for use without fees or restriction.

Images from the History of Medicine (IHM) in NLM Digital Collections provides online access to images from the historical collections of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. IHM includes image files of a wide variety of visual media including fine art, photographs, engravings, and posters that illustrate the social and historical aspects of medicine dating from the 15th to 21st century.

Images provided by NASA

Search newspaper articles from 1851 to present. Articles that aren't online are in the MSU Libraries holdings, via Current Journals or microfilm.

The NOAA Digital Library collections reflect NOAA’s broad mission of advancing science “from the bottom of the ocean to the surface of the sun.” Images within are contributed by NOAA staff and help depict NOAA’s work to explain and interpret our changing environment. The NOAA Digital Library started in 1998 as part of the NOAA Central Library. An update in 2019 organized approximately 70,000 images into broad collections, further arranged into specific galleries.

Openverse is a tool that allows openly licensed and public domain works to be discovered and used by everyone.

Openverse searches across more than 800 million images and audio tracks from open APIs and the Common Crawl dataset. We aggregate works from multiple public repositories, and facilitate reuse through features like one-click attribution.

Over 6 million free high-resolution photos and illustrations brought to you by the world’s most generous community of contributors.