Skip to main content

Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Mississippi State University

Help

Research Guides

Philosophy & Religion

This guide will give you guidance in researching Philosophy & Religion. Use the tabs on the side to help you find print books located in the MS State Library, e-books, databases for scholarly resources, and legitimate online Web resources.

Tips for Accessing MS State Libraries' Databases

Before you begin your search, login to your library account - this will help with access and also requesting books or articles through InterLibrary Loan (ILL).  If you are off campus, you will want to login to the campus Virtual Private Network (VPN).  If you need assistance, you can always chat, call or email with us here in the library!

Important Databases for Philosophy & Religion

The most important databases you will use in researching Philosophy & Religion topics are listed below. Keep scrolling through this page to learn how to search each one.

How to search Databases Hosted on EBSCO

ALTA Religion Database with ALTAserials, Philosophers Index, and the Religion & Philosophy Collection are hosted on EBSCO. When searching databases through the EBSCO platform, make sure that you start in the "Advanced Search." Once here you can select the "peer reviewed" box, to limit your search to only these articles. To limit your results further you can also select the time period, source (Academic Journals), subject & language.

For Example: If you are searching "humanism" you will want to select the peer reviewed box and limit to scholarly articles. Once you receive your results, you can also limit to "Academic/ Scholarly Articles."

Once you have found an article you would like to view, you can use the "Find It" button to locate the article. You will be taken to the full text version of the article, where it is located in print in the library, or we do not have it and you will need to request through ILL. If you are already logged into your account, the form will automatically fill out for the requested article and you will receive an email that you can log into ILL to view the PDF of the article. Turn around time on ILL is at least 24-48 hrs.

How to Search PhilPapers