Skip to main content

Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Mississippi State University

Help

Research Guides

Linguistics

This research guide will help you in your research for studies in linguistics. You will find how to search for peer-reviewed articles, key reference books and journals, as well as helpful online resources.

Searching Strategies for Databases & Online Catalog

You can find information on your subject by using the Mississippi State University Libraries Online Catalog & available databases.  The searching strategies will work in the catalog and databases.

Two types of searches will help locate books:  the "SUBJECT" and "KEYWORD" searches. 

The Subject Search
Use this search when looking for books about a subject, such as phonetics.  If you are looking for information on an author, you will enter the author's name (last name, first name). 
The Keyword Search
Use this search when looking for resources that you do not know the subject heading for. Keyword searching will search the entire text.   
 
Example: 
If you are searching for Agglutinative Language -  the catalog will search for the words Agglutinative and Language anywhere in the document.  To get the results you need, put the two words in quotation marks - "Agglutinative Language."
 

Phrases:
You will need to add quotation marks at the beginning and end of phrase. 
 
Example: 
"Figure of Speech"

Boolean Searching (AND, OR, & NOT) to find information:
Boolean searching is used to show the relationship between words. 
 
Example:
Phonetics AND Phonology = results will have everything that has those two words, but not appearing in a resource individually. Morphology OR Syntax = results will include everything that includes the words together or individually in a resource
"Linguistic Philosophy" NOT Externalists = results will include all Linguistic Philosophies, but not The Externalists.

 

Truncation:
By adding an asterisk (*) to find resources containing all spelled variations of a word or other endings to the root of a word.
 
Example:
Phon* = results will include phonograph, phoneme, phonations, phonetics, etc.

Serendipitous Browsing for Linguistics

Mitchell memorial Library

Mitchell Memorial Library. Digital ID_62.  Digital Collections: University Archives

Serendipitous Browsing leads to great finds in the library!  You can do this without a computer, just take your self to the circulating collection and look to see what you can find!  Use the Library of Congress (LOC) Call Numbers given below to search the Research Services Reference Collection, as well as the circulating collection. 

Areas to browse for Linguistic resources include the 3rd floor P - S room & 2nd floor Research Services. Use the LOC classification pre-fixes to browse in both locations in the Mitchell Memorial Library.  The LOC classification system is Alpha-Numeric, meaning you will see letters and numbers to locate a book.  Specifically, browse the P section, PA – PD, PF – PM for non-English languages. These LOC prefixes will also work in Reference, located in Research Services.  Browse these other areas for information on your subject as well.  

BF

Psychology (especially near BF 723, for cognition)

P

Communication in general, including general linguistics. Specific numbers, or ranges of numbers, are used to sub-classify, e.g. P 37 psycholinguistics; P 41 sociolinguistics; P 215-240 phonology; P 301 discourse analysis and stylistics.

PA

Classical (Western) languages and philology in general, and Latin and Greek; Byzantine and modern Greek; Medieval and modern Latin.

PB

Modern languages and philology (in general); Celtic languages

PC

Romance languages and philology: 1000-Italian; 2001-3761 French and Provençal; 3801-3976 Catalan; 4000 Spanish; 5000 Portuguese

PD

Germanic languages and philology: Norwegian, Danish, Swedish, Icelandic, Old Norse.

PE

Germanic languages and philology: English.

PF

Germanic languages and philology: Dutch, Afrikaans, Flemish, Friesian, German.

PG

Slavic languages/philology and literatures.  2000 Russian

PH

Finno-Ugrian and Uralic languages/philology and literatures. Finnish, Estonian, Hungarian, 5001-Basque

PJ

Oriental languages/philology and literatures. (1000-Egyptian & Coptic, 2301-2551 Hamitic, 3001-9293 Semitic).

PK

Indo-Iranian languages and literatures, including Vedic, Sanskrit, Pali, Persian, Urdu, Hindi, Bengali); 8001-8958 Armenian; 9001-Caucasian and Georgian)

PL

Eastern Asian, Africa, and Oceania. 500-700 Japanese; 901-49 Korean, 1000-2239 Chinese, 5001-7511 Oceanic, 8001-8844 African.

PM

1-7356 Native languages of the Americas; 7800-Mixed and Creole languages, 8000-9021 Artificial languages.

QP399

Neurological/psychological aspects of language.

Z 7001-04

some bibliographic information on linguistics

(Classification table by the Library of Congress and UC San Diego Libguide for Linguistics)

 

If you would like more information on each letter and specific break down of corresponding letters for the rest of the LOC Classification System, follow the link below.