Research Guides: Fashion Design and Merchandising: Market & Company Research

Library Databases

For best results when accessing library resources when off-campus, you should first log into the MSU Virtual Private Network (VPN), which ITS provides.

IBISWorld
IBISWorld is "the United States' most comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings." "IBISWorld's team of economists and industry experts research and analyze economic, demographic and government statistics so you don't have to."
- You may see a MSU login screen when accessing this database, even on the campus network.
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete contains a wide range of business-related information, including …
- Peer-reviewed articles
- Trade publication articles
- Market research reports
- Industry profiles
- SWOT Analyses
- And more!
Gale Business Insights: Global
"For business professionals, entrepreneurs, students, and general researchers, Gale Business Insights: Global delivers comprehensive international business intelligence, compiled into a logical, useable context." Includes access to articles from just-style.com
EDAR (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval)
This database by the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) allows you to find annual and quarterly reports submitted by U.S. corporations.

Federal Government Data Sources

American Time Use Survey
"The American Time Use Survey (ATUS) measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing. "
Census Data Portal
This new Census website replaces the American FactFinder.
Census Quick Facts
"QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more."
Consumer Expenditure Survey
"The Consumer Expenditure Surveys (CE) program provides data on expenditures, income, and demographic characteristics of consumers in the United States."
Industries at a Glance
From the Bureau of Labor Statistics, "[t]hese pages display a ‘snapshot’ of national data obtained from different BLS surveys and programs. Many programs also produce additional industry detail, including state, county, and metropolitan area data."
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
NAICS "is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy." It can be very useful when searching databases like Business Source Complete.
Office of Textile and Apparel (OTEXA)
Part of the U.S. Department of Commerce, this office "administers the implementation of trade agreements affecting these industries, formulates trade policy, performs research and analysis, compiles industry data, and promotes U.S. trade events for these industry sectors"
Bureau of Economic Analysis
"BEA's economists produce some of the world's most closely watched statistics, including U.S. gross domestic product, better known as GDP. We do state and local numbers, too, plus foreign trade and investment stats and industry data."

Market Overviews

Mississippi Market Research

Y'all Business
Provided through the office of the Mississippi Secretary of State, Y'all Business provides access to a wide variety of market research data for the state. Free registration is required.

Books

The American Marketplace : demographics and spending patterns (14th ed.) by New Strategist Press Editors (Editor)
Call Number: Available online
ISBN: 9781937737504
Publication Date: 2017-06-18
"The dynamic marketplace of American consumers is at your fingertips in the new 14th edition of The American Marketplace: Demographics and Spending Patterns. Designed for convenience, The American Marketplace collects in one handy volume the latest demographic and socioeconomic data to keep you up to date with the ever-changing consumer landscape. Its hundreds of tables are organized into 11 chapters covering attitudes, education, health, housing, income, labor force, living arrangements, population, spending, time use, and wealth. "
Best Customers : Demographics of consumer demand (12th ed.) by New Strategist Press Editors (Editor)
Call Number: Available online
ISBN: 9781937737412
Publication Date: 2017-06-18
"Based on data collected from the Bureau of Labor Statistics' 2014 Consumer Expenditure Survey, this report analyzes the demographics of household spending on hundreds of products and services. Identifies which households spend the most on those products and services, and which control the largest share of spending. Also included is a product-by-product analysis of spending trends before and after the Great Recession, and a prediction of future trends."
Consumer Behavior 2019-2020 by Richard K. Miller & Associates
Call Number: Available online
ISBN: 9781577832690
Publication Date: 2019
"Market research report summarizes current research on why consumers buy and how to influence their purchasing, based on data from U.S. retail market analysts, consumer behavior specialists and recent consumer survey results. The handbook presents insight on demographics, including the Hispanic, African-American, Asian-American, Baby Boomer, Generation X, Millennial, Gay & Lesbian, and Affluent consumer groups."
International Consumer Markets 2020-2021, 4th edition by Richard K. Miller & Associates
Call Number: Available online
ISBN: 9781577832867
Publication Date: 2020
Who's Buying Apparel (9th ed.) by New Strategist Editors (Editor)
Call Number: Available online
ISBN: 9781306981477
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
"... based on unpublished data collected by the Bureau of Labor Statistics 2012 Consumer Expenditure Survey you can t get these data online. It examines how much Americans spend on apparel by the demographics that count age, income, high-income households, household type, race and Hispanic origin, region of residence, and education. To round out the spending picture, it also presents who-are-the-best-customers analyses of the data, showing the best and biggest customers at a glance. It looks at who buys apparel and shoes for infants, boys and girls, men and women, plus jewelry, sewing material, laundering, dry cleaning, and more."

Trade Policies and Regulations

Office of Textile and Apparel (OTEXA)
Part of the U.S. Department of Commerce, this office "administers the implementation of trade agreements affecting these industries, formulates trade policy, performs research and analysis, compiles industry data, and promotes U.S. trade events for these industry sectors"

Other Resources for Market Research

There are many other sources for market research information. Here are a couple of other tips:

Trade associations (such as those listed in this guide) often provide market statistics and other resources. Sometimes there's a fee, but they often provide some information for free.
The websites of key players in the industry can be useful. Here you can often find annual reports and other documents that discuss not only the specific company but their industry as a whole.
See the library's "Industry, Company & Market Analysis Research Guide" for more information!

Library update: Recent database changes

Fashion Design and Merchandising

Library Databases

Federal Government Data Sources

Market Overviews

Trade Policies and Regulations

Other Resources for Market Research