The following are examples of some of fashion-related reference works that are located in the Research Services department (2nd floor of Mitchell Memorial Library). Browse around these and you will find others.
Contemporary Fashion, Second Edition
Call Number: REF TT505.A1 C66 2002
Publication Date: 2002-03-28
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion by Valerie SteeleFrom diapers to Dior, saris to serapes, the world of clothing is nearly as vast and as ancient as the human race. Tracing the stylistic and functional threads that unite clothing across time and cultures, as well as delving into the divergent styles and significance of apparel, this A to Z encyclopedia is the essential resource for exploring the relationship between culture and couture. A new addition to the Scribner Daily Life series, which includes the best-selling Encyclopedia of Food and Culture, this broad-based encyclopedia surveys clothing and body adornment, and examines the origins of clothing, the development of fabrics and technologies, and the social meanings of dress. It also presents information on representative costumes from a wide variety of historical eras. Topics range from the bustle, sari, and toga to Polyester and body piercing. cocktail dress, bathing suit, burqua, Nehru jacket), techniques and manufactures (batik, dry cleaning, zipper, stone washing), body adornment (makeup, mask, tattoo, wig), and important persons and institutions (Coco Chanel, Edith Head, Yves Saint-Laurent, Fashion Institute of Technology). The longer essays provide cultural context: class, gender, sumptuary laws, costume design for stage and screen, advertising; fashion careers; ecclesiastical dress; military uniforms; etc. The Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion includes a comprehensive general index in the last volume, a timeline, and a topical outline. From the secondary school student writing a paper on dress among Native Americans to the university student interested in the underpinnings of clothing design, this set represents a unique and valuable source.
Call Number: REF GT507 .E53 2005
Publication Date: 2004-09-22
Fairchild's Dictionary of Fashion by Phyllis G. Tortora (Editor); Charlotte Mankey Calasibetta
Call Number: REF TT503 .C34 1998
Publication Date: 1998-01-01
Fairchild's Dictionary of Textiles 7th Edition by Phyllis G. Tortora; Robert S. Merkel
Call Number: REF TS1309 .F34 1996
Publication Date: 2009-03-27
Features over 14,000 definitions of fibres, fabrics, laws and regulations affecting textile materials and processing, inventors of textile technology, business and trade terms relevant to textiles. This dictionary is a useful reference for those working in the textile industry.
Fashion, Costume, and Culture by Sara Pendergast; Tom Pendergast; Sarah HermsenFor assignments requiring research on culturesand customs, fashion and costume information through the erasis frequently needed by middle school students. U · X · L 's "Fashion, Costume, and Culture: Clothing, Footwear, Hairstyles, and Body Decorations Through the Ages" has all the answers in a comprehensive, chronologically based, affordablypriced, 5-vol. set. With typical U · X · L high quality, "Fashion, Costume, and Culture" providesfacts and information about the cultural, religious and social implicationsof human decoration andadornment throughout history, with a particular emphasis on thedecades of the 20th century. In500 entries, detailed informationabout clothing, hairstyles, tattoos, jewelry, body piercing, feet binding and othertypes of fashion or style is examined. Additionally, entries explainthe fashion or style within the context of the traditions, customs, rituals or practices it relates to, as well as its significance to societyor culture. Entries follow astandardized format to ensure that students caneasily do comparisons. Arranged chronologically, each era, centuryor decade begins with a short synopsis of the historical highlights.With further division of the information by region, similar nations, countries and cultures are presented together and include anoverview broken up with numerous subheads leading studentsdirectly to the information they need. For additional ease-of-use, information on specific fashion items and the country or culturethat used them is divided into four main topics areas including: ClothingFootwearHairstyles and headgearBody adornment To ensure relevancy for student research needs, entries wereselected based onmiddle school curriculum, as well as theirimportance to a particular culture or country. Additionally, "Fashion, Costume, and Culture" is written at a seventh-grade readinglevel with difficult terms or concepts explained in each e
Call Number: REF GT511 .P46 2004
Publication Date: 2003-12-05
The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Costume and Fashion by Jack Cassin-ScottThis illustrated reference work traces the changing styles in costume and fashion design over 900 years, from the basic, functional dress of the medieval period to the brutality of punk. Its encyclopaedic coverage should benefit historians and theatrical groups as well as students of fashion.
Call Number: REF GT720 .C37 1994
Publication Date: 1994-12-31
The St. James Fashion Encyclopedia by Richard MartinThe St. James Fashion Encyclopedia is sure to please students and fashion devotees with well-organized and information-intensive essays (complete with biographical facts) on more than 200 designers, providing a more reliable critical measure and a larger perspective than previously available.
Call Number: REF TT505.A1 S7 1997
Publication Date: 1997-12-01
Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion by Joanne Bubolz EicherPublishing in summer 2010 in print and online, the 10-volume Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion is the first comprehensive reference work to explore all aspects of dress and fashion globally - from pre-history to the present day. Arranged geographically and written by an internationalteam of experts, the Encyclopedia will serve as the go-to source for all issues relating the art and anthropology of costume, dress, and fashion the world over for students, scholars, members of the design and fashion industries, and fashion aficionados for years to come.The Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion brings together for the first time the work of over 600 renowned scholars from every part of the globe. All articles have been specially commissioned and particular effort has been made to commission articles by indigenous scholars with in-depth localknowledge.