College of Veterinary Medicine Research Guide

A very practical book describing step-by-step how to select, perform and interpret the various diagnostic techniques which are available in equine practice. This information is not readily available in the standart equine texts, in which techniques are indicated, but not described in sufficient detail. Whether to confirm a diagnosis, or to narrow down a list of differentials, a wide range of tests, procedures and methods of investigation are available to veterinarians in equine practice. Practical information about particular techniques is often difficult to find in standard textbooks of equine medicine and surgery, in which investigations are indicated, but rarely described in detail. Diagnostic Techniques in Equine Medicine provides the practical information required to be able to undertake all these procedures. Clear step-by-step descriptions are illustrated with photographs and line drawings, resulting in a unique resource for students and practitioners. Diagnostic Techniques in Equine Medicine will be of particular value to practitioners in mixed practice who see occasional equine patients, to newly qualified veterinarians, and to veterinary students, all of whom may need clear and precise guidance on how to perform unfamiliar diagnsotic techniques. Clear step-by-step descriptions are illustrated with photographs and line drawings Walks you through conducting a thorough examination with observations on signs and symptoms User-friendly tables illustrate how different techniques can be applied to narrow down a list of differential diagnoses Helpful appendices demonstrate applications of different techniques to assist in defining a diagnosis An increased focus on ultrasound techniques General up-date of current information with new material included Focus on ultrasound image techniques which are used much more in veterinary practices now

The Handbook of Small Animal Radiology and Ultrasound: Techniques and Differential Diagnoses provides a user-friendly reference for a wide range of radiographic and ultrasonographic findings in dogs and cats. Key features Enables successful and clear interpretation of radiographs and ultrasonograms Offers clearly sequenced text arrangement from the identification of the radiographic or sonographic abnormalities to a list of subsequent considerations for each sign Prioritizes different clinical findings to tailor further diagnostic tests or therapeutic interventions Takes imaging abnormalities from the descriptive to the interpretative New to this edition Colour throughout enhances user-friendliness Many new conditions Extra illustrations show techniques and normal anatomy Additional information on techniques, normal appearance and disease processes Expanded Further Reading sections This book is intended for all users of small animal diagnostic imaging, from radiologists through to general practitioners to veterinary students, and will be an invaluable supplement to existing references in the subject.

With coverage of current issues and emerging trends, Fowler's Zoo and Wild Animal Medicine, Volume 7 provides a comprehensive, all-new reference for the management of zoo and wildlife diseases. A Current Therapy format emphasizes the latest advances in the field, including nutrition, diagnosis, and treatment protocols. Cutting-edge coverage includes topics such as the "One Medicine" concept, laparoscopic surgery in elephants and rhinoceros, amphibian viral diseases, and advanced water quality evaluation for zoos. Editors R. Eric Miller and Murray E. Fowler promote a philosophy of animal conservation, bridging the gap between captive and free-ranging wild animal medicine with chapters contributed by more than 100 international experts. The Current Therapy format focuses on emerging trends, treatment protocols, and diagnostic updates new to the field, providing timely information on the latest advances in zoo and wild animal medicine. Content ranges from drug treatment, nutrition, husbandry, surgery, and imaging to behavioral training. Coverage of species ranges from giraffes, elephants, lions, and orangutans to sea turtles, hellbenders, bats, kakapos, and more. An extensive list of contributors includes recognized authors from around the world, offering expert information with chapters focusing on the latest research and clinical management of captive and free-ranging wild animals. A philosophy of animal conservation helps zoo and wildlife veterinarians fulfill not only the technical aspects of veterinary medicine, but contribute to the overall biological teams needed to rescue many threatened and endangered species from extinction. All content is new, with coverage including coverage of cutting-edge issues such as white-nose disease in bats, updates on Ebola virus in wild great apes, and chytrid fungus in amphibians. Full-color photographs depict external clinical signs for more accurate clinical recognition. Discussions of the "One Medicine" concept include chapters addressing the interface between wildlife, livestock, human, and ecosystem health. New sections cover Edentates, Marsupials, Carnivores, Perrissodactyla, and Camelids. Over 100 new tables provide a quick reference to a wide range of topics. An emphasis on conserving threatened and endangered species globally involves 102 expert authors representing 12 different countries.

The leading reference for the diagnosis and management of fluid, electrolyte, and acid-base imbalances in small animals, Fluid, Electrolyte, and Acid-Base Disorders in Small Animal Practice, 4th Edition provides cutting-edge, evidence-based guidelines to enhance your care of dogs and cats. Information is easy to find and easy to use, with comprehensive coverage including fluid and electrolyte physiology and pathophysiology and their clinical applications, as well as the newest advances in fluid therapy and a discussion of a new class of drugs called vaptans. Lead author Stephen DiBartola is a well-known speaker and the "go-to" expert in this field, and his team of contributors represents the most authoritative and respected clinicians and academicians in veterinary medicine. Over 30 expert contributors represent the "cream of the crop" in small animal medicine, ensuring that this edition provides the most authoritative and evidence-based guidelines. Scientific, evidence-based insights and advances integrate basic physiological principles into practice, covering patient evaluation, differential diagnosis, normal and abnormal clinical features and laboratory test results, approaches to therapy, technical aspects of therapy, patient monitoring, assessing risk, and prediction of outcomes for each disorder. Hundreds of tables, algorithms, and schematic drawings demonstrate the best approaches to diagnosis and treatment, highlighting the most important points in an easy-access format. Drug and dosage recommendations are included with treatment approaches in the Electrolyte Disorders section. Clear formulas in the Fluid Therapy section make it easier to determine the state of dehydration, fluid choice, and administration rate and volume in both healthy and diseased patients. Updated chapters cover the latest advances in fluid therapy in patient management, helping you understand and manage a wide range of potentially life-threatening metabolic disturbances. Expanded Disorders of Sodium and Water chapter includes information on a new class of drugs called vaptans, vasopressin receptor antagonists that may soon improve the ability to manage patients with chronic hyponatremia. Hundreds of new references cover the most up-to-date advances in fluid therapy, including renal failure and shock syndromes.

No other equine quick reference comes close to providing this much accurate, timely, and clinically useful diagnostic and therapeutic information. Clinical Veterinary Advisor: The Horse is six books in one -- Diseases and Disorders, Procedures and Techniques, Differential Diagnosis, Laboratory Tests, Clinical Algorithms, and a Drug Formulary. Plus, a companion website gives you convenient, searchable access to the full text and other useful tools. Covering hundreds of current topics in a concise at-a-glance format, this authoritative resource from David A. Wilson, DVM and a group of respected contributors is a must-have guide for the busy equine or mixed-practice practitioner. A consistent, easy-reference format allows for quick retrieval of practical, clinical information. A wealth of high-quality illustrations clearly demonstrates key concepts and procedures. Concise, at-a-glance format offers six books in one with these sections: Diseases and Disorders provides at-a-glance coverage of nearly 500 common medical problems, arranged alphabetically for immediate access. Each entry presents the topic in the sequence it follows clinically, including: history and physical exam findings, diagnostic testing, treatment (including specific medications and dosages), prognosis, and recommended monitoring. References for each topic support the data presented. Procedures and Techniques offers illustrated, step-by-step instructions for understanding and performing over 100 important clinical procedures. Differential Diagnosis displays nearly every possible cause for 65 different clinical disorders. Laboratory Tests summarizes essential information needed for interpreting 110 laboratory tests. Clinical Algorithms provides easy-to-follow, step-by-step guidance to clinical assessment and treatment planning for 50 of the most common clinical conditions/disorders. Drug Formulary is a compilation of dosages and other relevant information by expert Nathan Slovis, DVM for 145 new and current medications. A companion website includes the complete text of the book in a fully searchable format, which allows quick access to any topic and its related information in the six different sections. The website also includes a searchable drug formulary, a color image collection, clinical algorithms, and 50 client education sheets available in both English and Spanish.

Combining essential hematology content with the diagnostic features of an atlas, Veterinary Hematology: A Diagnostic Guide and Color Atlas delivers all the information you need to accurately assess and diagnose the blood diseases of common domestic animals - including dogs, cats, horses, cattle, sheep, goats, pigs, and llamas. This all-in-one resource utilizes a clinically-oriented and user-friendly approach to guide you through the processes of selecting relevant diagnostic tests, collecting and preparing samples, interpreting sample results, and determining their clinical significance. High-resolution photomicrographs, full-color illustrations, and excellent schematic drawings, tables, and quick-reference algorithms help you clearly visualize these concepts and procedures. Two books in one gives you the information of a user-friendly, clinical textbook and the diagnostic features of a color atlas in a single reference. Practical, clinically-relevant text is comprehensive and yet concise in its delivery of vital information such as: Principles and procedures that are employed in recognizing normal, abnormal, and artifactual features of blood and bone marrow samples and developing accurate diagnoses Common cytochemical stains and summary charts for interpretation Sample collection, staining procedures, and diagnostic techniques Differentiating features of malignant and benign hematologic disorders Miscellaneous cells and blood parasites and their significance in the evaluation of blood smears Hematopoietic and non-hematopoietic neoplasms High- resolution photomicrographs and excellent schematic drawings, tables, boxes and quick-reference algorithms aid your understanding of basic clinical concepts and differential diagnostic considerations. Over 800 full-color illustrations help you clearly visualize the concepts and clinical features of the blood and bone marrow - from normal cell maturation to the development of various pathologies.

A quick guide to appropriately selecting and interpreting laboratory tests, Small Animal Clinical Diagnosis by Laboratory Methods, 5th Edition helps you utilize your in-house lab or your specialty reference lab to efficiently make accurate diagnoses without running a plethora of unnecessary and low-yield tests. It provides answers to commonly asked questions relating to laboratory tests, and solutions to frequently encountered problems in small animal diagnosis. For easy reference, information is provided by clinical presentation and abnormalities, and includes hundreds of tables, boxes, key points, and algorithms. This edition, now in full color, is updated with the latest advances in laboratory testing methods and diagnostic problem solving. Written by noted educators Dr. Michael Willard and Dr. Harold Tvedten, this book may be used as an on-the-spot guide to specific problems or conditions as well as a reference for more detailed research on difficult cases. Concise discussions address laboratory approaches to various disorders, possible conclusions from various test results, artifacts and errors in diagnoses, and interpretations leading to various diagnoses. Hundreds of tables, boxes, algorithms, and key points offer at-a-glance information including cautions, common pitfalls, and helpful "pearls," and lead to proper differential and clinical diagnostic decision making. Note boxes identify key considerations in correlating clinical signs with test data for accurate diagnoses, highlight safety precautions, and offer helpful tips for sample preparation and interpretation. Chapters on laboratory diagnostic toxicology and therapeutic drug monitoring help in handling potentially fatal poisonings and other special situations. Expert editors and contributors provide clinical knowledge and successful diagnostic problem-solving solutions. A practical appendix lists referral laboratories that may be contacted for certain diseases, and reference values with the normal or expected range for coagulation, hematology, and more. Updated coverage integrates the newest advances in testing methods and diagnostic problem solving. Full-color photos and schematic drawings are placed adjacent to related text, and accurately depict diagnostic features on microscopic slide preparations as well as test procedures and techniques.