Researching specific products can sometimes be tricky as SEC filings often contain consolidated sales figures not broken out by individual product. Trade publications can be valuable sources of news and financial data on these items.
For example, searching the terms "Diet Coke" and "Mexico" in Business Source Complete reveals that changing the name of Diet Coke to CocaCola Light boosted sales, and that the product name Coke Light is used in non-English speaking markets in South America and Europe. (Wentz, L., & Madden, N. (1998). Global village. Advertising Age International, 3.)
Provides access to full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics, with indexing and abstracts as far back as 1886. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
All companies, foreign and domestic, are required to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) electronically through EDGAR, the Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system. Anyone can access and download this information for free. Here you'll find links to a complete list of filings available through EDGAR and instructions for searching the EDGAR database.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This collection contains more than 828,000 records, with coverage dating as far back as 1965. There is full text for more than 490 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books.