Skip to main content
We are here to help:

Architecture

Library and online resources for Architecture

Citing Architectural Images

Below you will find examples of images you will need to cite for your Architectural Studies.  The citation style used for the images below is The Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS).  This citation style has two ways of citing your resources known as Notes & Bibliography or Author & Date.  You can finds other examples in the print copy of CMOS in section 14, but types of images are in 14.235 specifically.  Find more information about incorporating images into your papers, project, and presentations (the numbers in brackets refer to sections in the print copy of CMOS):

  • If you chose to incorporate images into the text of your paper, the image should appear as soon as possible after the first text reference to it. [3.8]
  • Images should bear numbers, and all text references to them should be by the numbers (eg. “as figure 1 shows…”) The word “figure” should be lowercased and fully spelled out, unless in parenthetical references (where “fig” may be used). [3.9]
  • Below the image, the caption will begin with “Figure” or “Fig.” followed by a number and period. (Eg. Figure 1.) [3.23]
  • A caption may consist of a word or two, an incomplete or a complete sentence, several sentences, or a combination. [3.21]
  • Within a caption, most titles (including those for paintings, drawings, photographs, statues, and books) will be capitalized and italicized. [3.22]
  • A brief statement of the source of an illustration, known as a credit line, is usually appropriate and sometimes required by the owner of the illustration.[3.29]
  • A credit line usually appears at the end of a caption, sometimes in parentheses. [3.30]
  • In addition to author, title, publication details, and (occasionally) copyright date, the credit line should include any page or figure number. If the work being credited is listed in the bibliography or reference list, only a shortened form need appear in the credit line. [3.32] 
  • Illustrations from works in the public domain may be reproduced without permission. For readers’ information, however, a credit line is appropriate. [3.35]

You will always use captions in your papers and you will refer to them in numerical order preceded by Figure or Illustration.  You will abbreviate Figure to Fig, but you will write out all of Illustration.  You will be citing images from databases, journal articles, books, e-books & Websites.  The images used for examples were found and used under either the public domain, Fair Use or Creative Commons license.  Examples of these types of citations are provided below.  Remember these examples are a guide CMOS does not provide an exact guide on the citation images.  Additionally, always do what your professor wants you to do.

If you have any question, please email the library!

Images from a Database or Website

If you find an image from a Website or database, your captions and citations should look like the example below.

Bibliographic entry – online (websites or databases)

Wright, Frank Lloyd, Architect, Korab, Balthazar, photographer. FLW i.e. Frank Lloyd Wright, Edgar J. Kaufmann, Bear Run, Pa., 1987. Photograph. Fayette County Pennsylvania, https://www.loc.gov/item/2017650194/ (Accessed 13 August 2020).

Footnote/endnote – online (websites or databases)
1. Frank Lloyd Wright, Architect, and Balthazar Korab, photographer. FLW i.e. Frank Lloyd Wright, Edgar J. Kaufmann, Bear Run, Pa., 1987. Photograph. Fayette County Pennsylvania.

Caption – online (websites or databases)
Fig. 1. Frank Lloyd Wright, Architect, and Balthazar Korab, photographer. FLW i.e. Frank Lloyd Wright, Edgar J. Kaufmann, Bear Run, Pa., 1987. Photograph. Fayette County Pennsylvania, https://www.loc.gov/item/2017650194/ (Accessed 13 August 2020).

Images from a Book & E-Book

Print Book:

Fundamentals of Building Construction, Fig 6.15

 

Bibliographic entry – book

Allen, Edward, and Joseph Iano. Fundamentals of Building Construction, 5th ed. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2009.

Footnote/endnote – book

1. Edward Allen and Joseph Iano. Fundamentals of Building Construction, 5th ed. (Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2009), 233, Fig. 6.15.

Caption – book 

 Edward Allen and Joseph Iano. Fundamentals of Building Construction, 5th ed. (Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2009), 233, Fig. 6.15.


E-Book:

When citing e-books they will be cited like a print book, but you will state the format of it as Kindle, PDF, EPUB, etc. in the bibliographic entry at the end of the citation.  For books online, you will just list the URL.

Bibliographic entry – e-book

Hedges, Keith E., ed. Architectural Graphic Standards,12th ed. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2007. PDF. https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=1487844&authtype=sso&custid=magn1307&site=ehost-live&custid=magn1307 (Accessed 13 August 2020).

Footnote/endnote – e-book

1. Keith E. Hedges, ed. Architectural Graphic Standards,12th ed. (Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2007) 94, Fig. 5.3. PDF. https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=1487844&authtype=sso&custid=magn1307&site=ehost-live&custid=magn1307 (Accessed 13 August 2020).

Caption – e-book 

Keith E. Hedges, ed. Architectural Graphic Standards,12th ed. (Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2007) 94, Fig. 5.3. PDF. 

Images from a Journal

Villa Zeno - Casalto architectural plan by Palladio

Bibliographic entry – Journal Article

Johansen, John M. "Palladio, a Rocky Connecticut Hillside, the New Structural Technology: A House in Fairfield County, Conn.," Architectural Record 118 (December 1955): 152-157.

Footnote/endnote – Journal Article

1.   Palladio, Villa Zeno —Casalto, architectural drawing, ca. 1550’s, (Cessalto, Italy), reproduced in John M. Johansen, "Palladio, a Rocky Connecticut Hillside, the New Structural Technology: A House in Fairfield County, Conn.," Architectural Record 118 (December 1955): 152, illustration. 

Caption – Journal Article

Illustration 1. of Palladio' Villa Zeno —Casalto, architectural drawing, ca. 1550’s, (Cessalto, Italy), reproduced in John M. Johansen, "Palladio, a Rocky Connecticut Hillside, the New Structural Technology: A House in Fairfield County, Conn.," Architectural Record 118 (December 1955): 152.