Counseling

A metasite with links to careers in psychology, reference sources, psychiatric disorders, and more.

This site provides a lot of information related to Christian counseling, including information on the profession, accredited programs, ethics, and other online resources.

Maintained by the Commission for Counseling and Psychological Services, this site contains information on student counseling centers on the web, a virtual pamphlet collection on counseling-related topics, training resources, and more.

Disability.gov is the federal government website for comprehensive information on disability programs and services in communities nationwide. The site links to more than 14,000 resources from federal, state and local government agencies; academic institutions; and nonprofit organizations.

HealthyPlace.com is a large consumer mental health site, providing comprehensive, trusted information on psychological disorders and psychiatric medications from both a consumer and expert point of view. They have an active mental health social network for support, online psychological tests, breaking mental health news, mental health videos, a live mental health tv and radio show, unique tools like our "mood journal" and more.

Internet Mental Health is a free encyclopedia of mental health information created by a Canadian psychiatrist, Dr. Phillip Long. The site includes information on dozens of disorders, discussion lists, research papers, and web links to additional mental health resources.

From site: "AA Mississippi helps individuals struggling with alcoholism find the help they need on a local basis. Discover Mississippi Alcoholics Anonymous meetings per county or city, and take the next step to overcome alcohol addiction."

The NCRTM is sponsored by the Rehabilitation Services Administration (RSA) and hosted by Utah State University. It serves the profession of Vocational Rehabilitation as a centralized resource for the development, collection, dissemination, and utilization of training materials; as a forum for advancing knowledge through applied research and open dialog; and as a marketplace for career and staff development.

This is the National Rehabilitation Information Center's online gateway to an abundance of disability- and rehabilitation-oriented information organized in a variety of formats designed to make it easy for users to find and use.

The PsychCentral website includes a large collection of counseling-related information, including descriptions of numerous disorders, treatment options, news, blogs, and a weekly newsletter.

This site provides links to numerous online resources related to counseling, including directories of psychology, mental health resources, and professional societies.

Rehabs.org was developed by bringing together experts in substance misuse treatment from leading nonprofit, academic, and government institutions. Through this important resource, individuals can hear stories from people with similar experiences, discover the answers they need for recognizing and dealing with substance misuse, and locate support.

The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) website provides a wealth of information on topics such as suicide prevention, mental health, and substance abuse. Many publications dealing with these areas can be downloaded for free from their website. Video clips on specific topics are also available.

This website provides access to free, web-based pamphlets on many counseling-related topics, including anxiety, grief, stress, and wellness. These virtual pamphlets have been prepared by colleges and universities throughout the U.S. The site also includes information on an electronic discussion list focused on university student counseling center web resources.