Research Guides: Sustainable Bioproducts Research Guide: Find Articles

Find Articles - Core Databases

When off-campus, it is best to first log into the MSU Virtual Private Network before clicking on a database.

Listed below are databases that you may find useful for Sustainable Bioproducts research. For a complete listing of all of MSU Libraries' online indexes and databases, click here.

If the MSU Libraries does not provide access to a journal article or other item that you need, you may order it through Interlibrary Loan.

Unless otherwise indicated, you must be a current MSU faculty member, staff member, or student to access the resources below.

Core Databases

Scopus
This multidisciplinary database is "the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature."
- Over 100 million records of journal articles, conference papers, and more
- Good coverage of all areas of STEM, as well as social sciences, engineering, and business.
- Offers sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research
Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary research database that indexes thousands of journals, magazines, and trade publications. Primary coverage back to the 1990s, but some content goes back much further.
AGRICOLA
Indexes USDA publications, core journals in agricultural and related sciences, and items acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions. Primary coverage is back to 1970, with some coverage back to the early 1900s.
Google Scholar
Indexes the websites of commercial publishers, governments, universities, and other organizations. It can be very useful when trying to find a PDF of a specific article.
- Remember, for a good literature review, Google Scholar should be seen as a supplement rather than a substitute for other library databases.
- If you see a “Find It@MSState Libraries” on the right, then click on that link to get the full article.
- When off-campus, you can get more access to full articles by using the MSU VPN.

Other Databases

SciFinder
The premier database for chemistry, materials science, and related sciences, providing access to thousands of journals, as well as conference proceedings and other items, back to the 1800s.
- First time users must click here to register before accessing the web version. This must be done on-campus or through the MSU's VPN.
- For more information on searching this resource, visit the Scifinder training page.
American Chemical Society (ACS) Publications
Provides access to most ACS journals going back to 1879, but does not contain access to articles in the Chemical & Engineering News archive.
Business Source Complete
Provides abstracting and indexing for over a thousand journals and full text for nearly 4,000 journals covering business, management, economics, finance, banking, accounting, and much more. Coverage back to the 1920s and beyond.
Environment Complete
This database provides coverage of all areas related to the environment, including forest resources, with some coverage back to the back to the 1960s and beyond.
TreeSearch
Provided by the USDA Forest Service, this free database contains the full-text of decades of Forest Service publications.

Note: Academic Search Premier, Agricola, Business Source Complete, and Environment Complete can be searched together by going into one and clicking on "Choose Databases" at the top.