Research Guides: Poultry Science Research Guide: Home

About This Guide

This guide provides an overview of library resources and services related to Poultry Science, as well as links to other useful resources.

If you do not find what you need, please contact me, and I will be glad to assist you!

Brad Brazzeal
Agriculture & Forest Resources Librarian
(662) 325-7969
bbrazzeal@library.msstate.edu

Start Your Research - Poultry Science

The following resources are good places to start your research. Click on the Research Databases tab for additional resources that may be useful for your specific research area.

Find Books

MSU Libraries Online Catalog
- Searches the collections of MSU Libraries as well as other libraries in the area
- Books located in the Circulating Collection can be checked out.

Find Articles

When off-campus, first log into the MSU Virtual Private Network before clicking on a database.

You must be a current MSU faculty member, staff member, or student to access the resources below.

CAB Abstracts
Provides extensive coverage of journals in agriculture, forest resources, veterinary medicine, and related sciences.
- This EBSCO version provides coverage back to 1990.
- Access is limited to 4 simultaneous users.
PubMed
World's largest medical database, with records to articles back to the 1940s and coverage of topics such as animal physiology and veterinary medicine.
- Accessing PubMed through this link will allow you to view "Find It" links, which help you find the full text.
- The National Library of Medicine offers numerous PubMed tutorials.
- To search PubMed content using a different search interface, try Medline via EBSCO.
Scopus
This multidisciplinary database is "the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature."
- Over 70 million records of journal articles, conference papers, and more
- Good coverage of all areas of STEM, as well as scocial sciences, engineering, and business.
- Provides nearly 100% coverage of Medline and Compendex
- Offers sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research

If the MSU Libraries does not provide access to an article or other item you need, you may request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Library Workshops

The library offers a number of free workshops covering

Survival Skills for Graduate Students
Thesis and Dissertation Formatting
Microsoft and Adobe Software
More!

Click here for a listing of upcoming workshops. Click on any workshop title to register for the workshop.

Grad Students

Office of Thesis and Dissertation Format Review
Provides information on formatting your thesis or dissertation.
Citation Managment Software
Learn about programs that allow you to organize your references, format them in a style of your choice, and insert them into a Word document.
Search MSU Theses and Dissertations
Search electronic theses and dissertations by author, advisor, department, and more!
Survival Skills for Graduate Students
This webpage provides access to recordings of the popular "Survival Skills for Graduate Students" workshops.