Business Source Complete (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowWith premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals, this database is the essential tool for business students. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800This link opens in a new windowEarly American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 is a database of monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents, and ephemera that enables researchers to explore America's distant and not so distant past.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. JSTOR provides access to a variety of titles from multiple publishers in a single platform that helps people discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content through a powerful research and teaching platform. (MSU does not have full-text access to all JSTOR content.)
JSTOR has temporarily opened access to all primary source content. Full JSTOR access to this content is available through June 30, 2022.
Project MUSEThis link opens in a new windowProject MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content.
The "Encyclopedia of Communication and Information provides a comprehensive overview of universal modes of communication, the media, theories of communication and their implications, careers in communications and information, and biographies of notable figures in the field.
Semiotics, Media Studies and Communication Studies are three closely interlinked fields. Briefly stated, Semiotics, the science of signs, looks at how humans search for and construct meaning; Communication Studies is concerned with how meaning is conveyed; and Media Studies considers the ways in which messages are transmitted and received. This dictionary is designed to help students and general readers unlock the significance of the terminology and jargon commonly used in these fields. Being interdisciplinary in nature, Semiotics, Media, and Communication Studies are cluttered with notions derived from other disciplines. Hence, this dictionary also encompasses basic concepts from the fields of anthropology, archaeology, psychology, psychoanalysis, linguistics, philosophy, artificial intelligence, computer science, and biology. Collected here are the terms, concepts, personages, schools of thought, and historical movements that appear frequently in the relevant literature. The basis of each entry is a simple definition, which often includes the term's origin. Illustrations are provided where necessary, along with historical sketches of movements or schools of thought. The commentary on personages consists of brief statements about their contribution and relevance. Thus, the dictionary not only defines what a term means, but often goes into its history, applications, and broad implications. Terms are cross-referenced and their etymology is given where possible. This is a compact, practical research manual that will relieve much tension for students in semiotics and related fields. Because of its interdisciplinary approach, it will also provide a range of scholars with a handy reference to disciplines distinct from but related to their own.
This now-standard reference offers instant access to the latest information on communication and cultural theory, media policy and media practice. In addition to its usual comprehensive coverage of topics as diverse as media audiences, censorship, electronic mail, and communications models, this new edition includes a new chronology of media events, providing a guide to key moments in the development of the mass media, as well as a host of new entries.
A reference that surveys rhetoric the strategic presentation of ideas and choice of language in 467 signed entries covering principles, concepts, applications, practical tools, and major thinkers. It provides an overview of rhetoric and its role in contemporary education and communications, discusse