Databases, websites, and reference books with materials related to the broadcasting and film industries, including television, radio, and film.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)Designed for academic institutions, this database is a resource for scholarly research.It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, booksand more.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) offers full text articles to over 500 journals and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 670 journals. CMMC covers communication, mass media, linguistics, discourse, rhetoric, sociolinguistics, communication theory, language, logic, organizational communication and other closely related fields of study.
JSTORJSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. JSTOR provides access to a variety of titles from multiple publishers in a single platform that helps people discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content through a powerful research and teaching platform. (MSU does not have full-text access to all JSTOR content.)
JSTOR has temporarily opened access to all primary source, journal, and ebook content. Full JSTOR access through December 31, 2020.
Newspaper Source (EBSCO)Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it provides complete television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR and more.
Project MUSEProject MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content.
From the website: "As a nonprofit educational arts organization, AFI provides leadership in film and television and is dedicated to initiatives that engage the past, the present and the future of the moving image arts."
A recent Times-Mirror survey has shown that 65 percent of Americans prefer television over other news media for news coverage, an increase of 10 percent in just over a decade. To understand the enormous impact television news has had on American life, it is important to define the contributions made by various individuals in the field, as well as to recognize the news programs and broadcast journalism issues that have captivated, enlightened, and informed our nation. Never before have the forces and individuals of television news been so thoroughly and authoritatively examined.
A listing of nearly 11,000 winners of twelve major awards in broadcasting, music, cinema, and theatre. This should definitely edge up your Trivial Pursuits scores. The awards are arranged by year and include Oscar, Golden Globe, Grammy, Country Music Association, New York Film Critics, Pulitzer Prize, Tony, Obie, New York Drama Critic's Circle, Emmy, and Peabody. Annotation c. by Book News, Inc., Portland, Or.
Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
3 volumes. New York: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2004.
Focusing on American radio broadcasting with a secondary emphasis on radio in English-speaking nations, this encyclopedia includes 670 articles addressing personalities, music genres, regulations, technology, programming and stations, the "golden age" of radio and other topics relating to radio broadcasting throughout its history.
This volume of The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture examines how mass media have shaped popular perceptions of the South--and how the South has shaped the history of mass media. An introductory overview by Allison Graham and Sharon Monteith is followed by 40 thematic essays and 132 topical articles that examine major trends and seminal moments in film, television, radio, press, and Internet history. Among topics explored are the southern media boom, beginning with the Christian Broadcast Network and CNN; popular movies, television shows, and periodicals that have shaped ideas about the region, including Gone with the Wind, The Beverly Hillbillies, Roots, and Southern Living; and southern media celebrities such as Oprah Winfrey, Truman Capote, and Stephen Colbert. The volume details the media's involvement in southern history, from depictions of race in the movies to news coverage of the civil rights movement and Hurricane Katrina. Taken together, these entries reveal and comment on the ways in which mass media have influenced, maintained, and changed the idea of a culturally unique South.
"Genuinely transnational in content, as sensitive to the importance of production as consumption, covering the full range of approaches from political economy to textual analysis, and written by a star-studded cast of contributors" - Emeritus Professor Graeme Turner, University of Queensland "Finally, we have before us a first rate, and wide ranging volume that reframes television studies afresh, boldly synthesising debates in the humanities, cultural studies and social sciences...This volume should be in every library and media scholar's bookshelf." - Professor Ravi Sundaram, Centre for the Study of Developing Societies Bringing together a truly international spread of contributors from across the UK, US, South America, Mexico and Australia, this Handbook charts the field of television studies from issues of ownership and regulation through to reception and consumption. Separate chapters are dedicated to examining the roles of journalists, writers, cinematographers, producers and manufacturers in the production process, whilst others explore different formats including sport, novella and soap opera, news and current affairs, music and reality TV. The final section analyses the pivotal role played by audiences in the contexts of gender, race and class, and spans a range of topics from effects studies to audience consumption. The SAGE Handbook of Television Studies is an essential reference work for all advanced undergraduates, graduate students and academics across broadcasting, mass communication and media studies.
Focused on a popular topic, this exciting collection gives students and teachers substantial material for discussion and research. The Television in American Society Reference Library shows how television has reflected and influenced American society and culture throughout its history, covering both positive and negative effects. Accessible and interesting as well as informative, included are illustrations and sidebars, clear prose, and ideas for activities, research and further reading. A subject index, chronology and words-to-know section are among the many other features supporting student achievement. The Almanac looks at the history of television chronologically, starting with the introduction of the technology in the 19th century and ending with issues that face the industry as well as its future outlook. Included in its coverage are the most popular and influential TV programming and seminal moments in TV history. Other subjects include networks, viewing trends, t Federal Communications Commission (FCC), types of programming (such as Children's, educational, dramas, comedies, news, sports), advertising and the emergence of cable television.
Focused on a popular topic, this exciting collection gives students and teachers substantial material for discussion and research. The Television in American Society Reference Library shows how television has reflected and influenced American society and culture throughout its history, covering both positive and negative effects. Accessible and interesting as well as informative, included are illustrations and sidebars, clear prose, and ideas for activities, research and further reading. A subject index, chronology and words-to-know section are among the many other features supporting student achievement. Biographies focuses on television's early pioneers, news figures, performers and executives. Included are engaging portraits of key figures such as Roone Arledge, Lucille Ball, Oprah Winfrey, Bill Cosby, Walter Cronkite, Norman Lear, William Paley and Barbara Walters. Also presented are in-depth profiles of important and popular TV programs, among them All in the Family, Cheers, The Mary Tyler Moore Show, Saturday Night Live and Monday Night Football.
Focused on a popular topic, this exciting collection gives students and teachers substantial material for discussion and research. The three-volume set shows how television has reflected and influenced American society and culture throughout its history, covering both positive and negative effects. Accessible and interesting as well as informative, this Library includes more than 180 interesting illustrations and sidebars, clear prose, and ideas for activities, research and further reading. A subject index, chronology and words-to-know section are among the many other features supporting student achievement. The Primary Sources volume collects key documents and writings pertaining to the television industry, including transcripts from Tom Brokaw from the fall of the Berlin Wall and excerpts from Raising PG Kids in a X-Rated World and The Code of Practices for Television Broadcasters (Seal of Good Practice, 1981). For example, in the volume are comparisons of early and more recent advertising, coverage of such news events as JFK's assassination and 9/11, and excerpts from books by news and industry leaders.