Business Source Complete (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowWith premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals, this database is the essential tool for business students. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersThis link opens in a new windowSearch America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1924 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowCommunication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) offers full text articles to over 500 journals and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 670 journals. CMMC covers communication, mass media, linguistics, discourse, rhetoric, sociolinguistics, communication theory, language, logic, organizational communication and other closely related fields of study.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800This link opens in a new windowEarly American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 is a database of monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents, and ephemera that enables researchers to explore America's distant and not so distant past.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. JSTOR provides access to a variety of titles from multiple publishers in a single platform that helps people discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content through a powerful research and teaching platform. (MSU does not have full-text access to all JSTOR content.)
JSTOR has temporarily opened access to all primary source content. Full JSTOR access to this content is available through June 30, 2022.
Newspaper Source (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowNewspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it provides complete television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR and more.
The style of the Associated Press is the gold standard for news writing. With The AP Stylebook in hand, you can learn how to write and edit with the clarity and professionalism for which they are famous. Fully revised and updated, this new edition contains more than 3,000 A to Z entries-including more than 200 new ones-detailing the AP's rules on grammar, spelling, punctuation, capitalization, abbreviation, and word and numeral usage. You'll find answers to such wide-ranging questions as: * When should the names of government bodies be spelled out and when should they be abbreviated? * What are the general definitions of the major religious movements? * Which companies do the big media conglomerates own? * Who are all the members of the British Commonwealth? * How should box scores for baseball games be filed? * What constitutes fair use"? * What exactly does the Freedom of Information Act cover? With invaluable additional sections on the unique guidelines for business and sports reporting and on how you can guard against libel and copyright infringement, The AP Stylebook is the one reference that all writers, editors, and students cannot afford to be without."
This book is aimed at everybody who wants to write feature articles - including students on journalism courses; practising journalists, staff or freelance; people in trades and professions who have the need or occasion to write articles and are not sure how to go about it; people in PR and advertising; and people looking for a new hobby. Writing Feature Articles has proved invaluable, not only to students on journalism courses in the UK and overseas, but also to journalists extending their range, and to freelance and aspiring writers. Examples have been updated for this edition, and new information included on word processing.
How does a reporter go about researching a story on the Internet and how does one fact check and cite online sources? What are the copyright issues involved in quoting Internet sources? How does one go about selling a story to Internet sites? How does one physically file a story on-line? Answers to these and many more twenty-first-century journalism questions can be found in The Associated Press Guide to Internet Research and Reporting. The final word on the rules of Internet reporting, this comprehensive guide will be the on-line style guide of choice for AP staff, stringers, and journalism students alike.
This two-volume, issues-based reference set, available in both print and electronic formats, surveys varied views on many of the most contentious issues involving mass media ethics and the law. The focus on matters that regularly provide front-page headlines concerning rights and responsibilities of both speech and press, libel, technological threats to privacy, paparazzi and celebrities, sensationalism in media coverage of high-profile trials, cameras in the courtroom, federal and state freedom of information and "sunshine" laws, checkbook journalism, use of confidential sources, national security concerns and the press, digital duplication and deception, fair use, rights of celebrities, plagiarism and more. Collectively, this guide assesses key contentious issues and legal precedents, noting current ethical and legal trends and likely future directions. Topics explored in each section include:
*Ethical responsibilities versus legal rights
* Newsgathering and access
*Changing rules with social media and the internet
Six thematic sections that consist of approximately a dozen chapters each written by eminent scholars and practitioners active in the field.
Sections open with a general Introduction by the volume editors and conclude with a wrap-up "Outlook" section to highlight likely future trends.
Chapters follow a common organizational outline of a brief overview of the issue at hand, historical background and precedent, and presentation of various perspectives (pro, con, mixed) to the issue.
"See Also" cross references guide readers to related chapters and references and further readings guide users to more in-depth resources for follow-up.
The two-volume set concludes with an extensive Index.
English for Journalists is an invaluable guide not only to the basics of English, but to those aspects of writing, such as reporting speech, house style and jargon, which are specific to the language of journalism. Written in an accessible style, beginning with the fundamentals of grammar and the use of spelling, punctuation and journalistic writing and each point is illustrated with concise examples. This revised and updated edition includes: * a discussion of the recent debates surrounding the use of standard and idiomatic English * the correct use and spelling of foreign words * a chapter on broadcast journalism * an updated glossary of journalistic terms