Patent and Trademark Resource Center

A trademark is a recognizable word, name, symbol, or design that identifies and distinguishes it from others of the same type. Similar to patents, trademarks are protected by intellectual property rights.

The term trademark often refers to both trademarks and service marks. A trademark is used for goods (such as logos, brand names, slogans, distinctive sounds, etc.), while a service mark is used for services. A service mark (or servicemark) identifies the provider of a service rather than products.

You are not required to register your trademark. Once you start using your trademark, you become a trademark owner. However, if you want nationwide rights, you need to file a trademark application with the trademark office of the country in which you are seeking protection.

Trademark symbols TM, SM, and ®

Trademark symbols let your customers and competitors know you’re claiming the trademark. If you haven’t filed an application to register your trademark, use “TM” for goods and “SM” for services. If you have registered your trademark with the USPTO, use the symbol ®.   

Why do you want to conduct trademark searches? The purpose is that you want to make sure that someone else hasn't already registered your name, design, symbol, or combination of these. Below are some trademark search databases and tools.

USPTO Trademark Search Database
This database includes trademarks that have been registered or applied for at the United States Patent and Trademark. You can search by wordmarks, goods and services, owner names, and mark descriptions.

Mississippi Trademark Search Database
In this database, you can find trademark protection information related to Mississippi businesses or individuals.

USPTO Trademark ID Manual
This manual lists acceptable identifications of goods or services from which an applicant may choose to accurately identify the goods or services relating to which the applicant uses.

USPTO Trademark Design Search Code Manual
"A Design Code is a searchable numeric classification that organizes design elements into three tiers: categories, divisions, and sections. Each design element in a specific category is assigned a six-digit number. The first two numbers indicate the category; the second group of two-digit numbers indicates the division; and the third group of two-digit numbers indicates the section."

USPTO Trademark Assignment Query Menu
This database provides information about the transference of a given trademark. The recorded trademark assignment information is from 1955 to present. Trademark Assignments recorded prior to 1955 are maintained at the National Archives and Records Administration. 

USPTO Trademark Status & Document Retrieval (TSDR) 
The USPTO's TSDR allows you to view documents for pending and registered trademarks. TSDR also displays information contained in the USPTO records regarding International Registrations and applications for International Registration filed under the Madrid system through the United States.

USPTO Trademark Official Gazette
The Trademark Official Gazette contains bibliographic information and a representative drawing for each mark published, along with a list of cancelled and renewed registrations.

WIPO Global Brand Database
The Global Brand Database provides access to international trademarks under the Madrid System, trademarks from participating national and regional offices. You can search those collections using keywords, names, numbers, goods and services and image similarity and/or a combination of those.