Skip to main content

Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Mississippi State University

Help

Research Guides

Mechanical Engineering

Introduction

This guide is to help researchers identify useful resources in the field of mechanical engineering. It provides a list of print, online, and Web resources with descriptions as to the type of information each contains. For assistance with general research, please use our ask-a-librarian service.

   

Information for Graduate Students

Office of Thesis and Dissertation Format Review
Provides information on formatting your thesis or dissertation.

Search MSU Theses and Dissertations
Search electronic theses and dissertaitons by author, keywords, department, and more!

Search More Theses and Dissertations
Search electronic theses and dissertations by students around the world.

Citation Management Tools

Mendeley, EndNote, Zotero -- These are software programs that allows you to organize your references, format them in a style of your choice, and insert them into a Word document. Check the library workshops, find a session and register.

Survival Skills for Graduate Students
This web page provides details about the "Survival Skills for Graduate Students" workshop series.

Start Your Research - Engineering

The following resources are good places to start your research. Click on the Research Databases tab for additional resources that may be useful for your specific research area.

Find Books

  • Online Catalog
    • Searches the collections of MSU Libraries as well as other libraries in the area
    • Useful for finding material that provide a good overview of your research topic

Find Articles

You must be a current MSU faculty member, staff member, or student to access the resources below.

  • Scopus 
    • Multidisciplinary database with over 50 million records.
    • Provides nearly 100% coverage of Medline and Compendex
    • Offers sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research

 

  • Discovery
    • Searches over 50 research databases and the online catalog simultaneously
    • Databases searched include Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, Computer Science Index, Environment Complete, and more!

If the MSU Libraries does not provide access to an article or other item you need, you may request it through Interlibrary Loan.