Research Guides: Mechanical Engineering: Article Databases

Selected Article Databases

Listed below are databases that you may find useful for your research. For a complete listing of all of MSU Libraries' online databases, click here.
If the MSU Libraries does not provide access to a journal article or other item that you need, you may order it via Interlibrary Loan.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature including scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings.
Tutorial: http://info.scopus.com
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is the portal to retrieve Elsevier eJournals and eBooks. (MSU does not have full-text access to all Elsevier journals and books.)
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a Google search of scholarly content and literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles. Set Google preferences to access full-text via the MSU Libraries many databases and journals.
Tutorial: http://library.msstate.edu/content/templates/?a=884
ASTM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 12,000 past and current ASTM standards.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore digital library is a powerful resource for discovery of and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE and its publishing partners. IEEE Xplore provides access to more than four-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The full text collection of all Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Designed for academic institutions, this database is a resource for scholarly research.It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, booksand more.

AIAA Aerospace Research Center
Search AIAA journal articles, meeting papers, books, and more.

Computer Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Computer Source provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology. This database offers full text for nearly 300 publications and indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications.
Tutorial: http://support.ebsco.com/help/?int=ehost&lang=en&feature_id=Databases&TOC_ID=Always&SI=0&BU=0&GU=1&PS=0&dbs=ckh
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
Based on Mathematical Reviews, MathSciNet is a database offering access to reviews, abstracts, and bibliographic information of the mathematical sciences literature.
Tutorial: http://www.ams.org/mathscinet/help/full_search_help_full.html
arXiv This link opens in a new window
Open access to more than 1.2 million e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, and Statistics

CiteSeerX
"CiteSeerx is an evolving scientific literature digital library and search engine that has focused primarily on the literature in computer and information science."

Library update: Recent database changes

Mechanical Engineering

Finding the Full Text

Selected Article Databases