How to Find an Article
1. Search Article Databases (on the right) to see if MSU has article on your subject. (Here's a Tutorial.)
2. If you find an article, but don't find the full-text in the database, use the Find It button to search all MSU databases.
3. If we don't have the full-text online in any database, use the "Direct Link to Title" to search the Online Catalog.
4. If we don't have the article you want online OR in print, use Interlibrary Loan to get it from another library.
Got a Citation?
1.Try our new "Discovery Search" -- Just type in the title of the article or the information you have into the box on the library's home page.
2. Didn't work? Use the Online Catalog to search for the Journal name. The Browse search using the "Journal Title" search is the easiest (try the dropdown menu).
2. If we have the journal, use the Find It button to see if we have your article electronically (search by date or volume).
3. If we don't have the article electronically, look at the Online Catalog record to see if we have it in print.
4. If we don't have it in print or electronically, order it through Interlibrary Loan.
Articles in Databases
Welcome to the Poultry Science research guide. The databases here contain journal articles for poultry science research. To get more help with research or find more databases, contact your Reference Librarian!
If the MSU Libraries don't have the article you need in print or electronically, order it through Interlibrary Loan.
You must be a current MSU faculty/staff member or student to access these resources.
- PubMed"PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 17 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources."
- MEDLINE AdvancedCreated by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains citations to articles dealing not only with health, but animal health and other medically related topics.
- ScopusSciVerse Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources, including all citations from Medline. Scopus has a cited reference search, which allows you to find journals that have cited a given article or book back to 1996.
- AGRICOLAIndexes USDA publications, core journals in agricultural and related sciences, and items acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions. Primary coverage is back to 1970, with some coverage back to the early 1900s.
- CAB AbstractsProvides extensive coverage of journals in agriculture, forest resources, veterinary medicine, and related sciences.The EBSCO version provides coverage back to 1990.
- Business Source CompleteBusiness Source Complete provides abstracting and indexing for over a thousand journals and full text for nearly 930 journals covering business, management, economics, finance, banking, accounting, and much more. Coverage back to the 1920s.
- Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)This database allows users to access bibliographic records and abstracts of thousands of masters theses and doctoral dissertations in all fields. Most theses and dissertations from 1997 (some earlier) to the present are available in full-text as (very large) pdf files.
- Google ScholarThis version of Google indexes the websites of commercial publishers, governments, universities, and other organizations.
- Academic Search PremierThis multidisciplinary database provides access to scholarly and popular publications for all fields of study. Coverage for many journals goes back to the 1970s or further.
Staying Current
Here are some journals in poultry science that you might want to review to stay on top of the field. Click the
to find out more about a title.
You can create an email alert for a journal table of contents by either going to the journal website and signing up for the email or RSS feed or getting the RSS feed (see Web Resources tab for how-to) from one of the libraries' databases. Generally, getting the info directly from the journal site itself will be faster.












Loading...
