Skip to main content

Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Mississippi State University

Help

Research Guides

Geoscience Research Guide

How to find journal articles?

To find journal articles, you will use the library's online databases to do your searching. With such databases, you can find article abstracts and full-text articles by conducting keyword, author, title, or subject searching.

  1. Always try using the Find It button ( Find It! )to search all library databases for possible full text online.
  2. If there is no full-text article available online, you need to check the MSU online catalog by using the Find It button to see if the library has the journal in hard copy so that you can locate it and read the article.
  3. If the library does not have subscription to the journal, you can request for a copy of the article through the inter-library loan service (https://illiad.library.msstate.edu/illiad/).

Geosciences Databases

Find a complete list of the Libraries' geosciences databases here

Interdisciplinary Databases

Find a complete list of the Libraries' databases here

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search Tips

How to use Google Scholar to find full text articles that the library has paid for?

  1. Access  Google Scholar from the library’s database page. If you are off campus, you will need your MSU NetID and Password to log in to Google Scholar. Or, you can download VPN at the ITS web site.)
  2. Click on the title of an article in Google Scholar.
    If the library has subscribed to that journal, you can access the article directly.
  3. Click on “Find It@MSState Libraries”
    This will open up the dialog box that you see when searching other library databases (the Find It button will either connect to the library's online catalog or take you to the InterLibrary Loan request page.)