Geoscience Research Guide

"The American Geographical Society Library contains over 1.3 million items supporting instruction, research and learning. The collection is global in scope–ranging from the 15th century to present–and includes maps, atlases, books, periodicals, photographic and film media, and geospatial data."

Comprehensive disaster statistics by U.S. state, year, and disaster type.

A collection of field trip guidebooks.

A comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed journals in the geosciences.

A repository for geophysical and environmental data.

Citations for journal articles, books, and reports in various formats on topics related to natural and man-made hazards.

The database covers earthquakes, earthquake engineering, natural hazard and disaster mitigation, and related topics. Its publications include books, journal articles, conference papers, proceedings, technical reports, videos, and more.

A list of geological surveys in 50 U.S. states and Puerto Rico.

Information regarding environmental issues in the Southeast U.S.

A site that provides scientific information to understand the Earth and manage water, biological, energy, and mineral resources.

A site developed and maintained by MSU's own John Hostetler and his brother, Extreme Weather Watch is a reference tool for locating historical weather data.

Provides information on the implications of climate change for U.S. regions.

Contains monetary damage data on hurricanes, tornadoes, and floods from 1900-1999.

Provides descriptions of earth science data sets covering agriculture, hydrosphere and oceans, snow and ice, geology and geophysics, and human dimensions of global change.

Definitions of meteorological terms from the American Meteorological Society

Provides data from the National Climatic Data Center, the National Geophysical Data Center, and the National Oceanographic Data Center, which includes the National Coastal Data Development Center

Provides daily forecasts and warnings for severe weather events.

Provides forecast information dealing with tornadoes, severe thunderstorms, lightning, wildfires, and winter weather.

Provides access to historical daily weather maps from 1871-2002.

Provides access to daily weather maps from 2002-present.