Skip to main content

Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Mississippi State University

Help

Research Guides

Image Use & Citation

If you use an image in your work, you must cite it. This includes papers, presentations, theses/dissertations, publications, blogs, etc. Learn to use and cite images correctly.

Chicago Image & Artwork Citations

Art & Design disciplines frequently use the Chicago Manual Style of Citation for their research & writing.  Pay close attention to how the bibliographic entries, footnotes/ endnotes, & captions differ from each other.

Image Dürer, Albrect. Melancholia I. 1514. Engraving on copper. 239 x 168 mm.      Städel Museum, Frankfurt, Germany.

Bibliographic entry – general
Dürer, Albrect. Melancholia I. 1514. Engraving on copper. 239 x 168 mm.
     Städel Museum, Frankfurt, Germany.

Footnote/endnote – general
 1.   Albrect Dürer, Melancholia I, 1514. Engraving on copper, 239 x 168 mm.,
     Städel Museum, Frankfurt, Germany.

Caption – general
(*note: captions can be done as figure, fig., illustration, or ill.)

Fig. 1: Albrect Dürer, Melancholia I, 1514. Engraving on copper, 239 x 168 mm., Städel Museum, Frankfurt, Germany.

Chicago Websites Citation

Image Corot, Camille. Ravine in the Morvan, 1840 - 1845. Oil on canvas, 18 x 18 3/4 in., High Museum of Art, Atlanta, GA.

 

Bibliographic entry – online (websites or databases)
Corot, CamilleRavine in the Morvan, 1840 - 1845. Oil on canvas, 18 x 18 3/4 in.,
     High Museum of Art, Atlanta, GA.
     https://www.high.org/collections/ravine-in-the-morvan-near-lormes/, accessed
     27 Aug. 2018.

Footnote/endnote – online (websites or databases)
 1.  Camille Corot, Ravine in the Morvan, 1840 - 1845. Oil on canvas, 18 x 18 3/4 in., High Museum of Art, Atlanta, GA.

Caption – online (websites or databases)
Illustration. 1: Camille CorotRavine in the Morvan, 1840 - 1845. Oil on canvas, 18 x 18 3/4 in.High Museum of Art, Atlanta, GA.https://www.high.org/collections/ravine-in-the-morvan-near-lormes/

Chicago Giving Credit Citation

You must give credit for images used with copyright restrictions and those that do not have any restrictions.

 

Images with copyright restrictions:

image Mississippi State University Libraries, Bully Sitting in a Chair (Starkville, MS: University Archives. Special Collections Department. Mississippi State University Libraries) S_3377 © no date, by Mississippi State University Libraries.

Reproduced with permission from Mississippi State University Libraries, Bully Sitting in a Chair (Starkville, MS: University Archives. Special Collections Department. Mississippi State University Libraries) S_3377 © no date, by Mississippi State University Libraries.

 

Images without copyright restrictions:


Image Jasper the Plott Hound, 2011. Courtesy of Corinne Kennedy. Photograph courtesy by Lisa Gaedtka.


Fig. 1. Jasper the Plott Hound, 2011. Courtesy of Corinne Kennedy. Photograph courtesy by Lisa Gaedtka.