Skip to main content

MSU Libraries are here to help.

See a guide to using the library for teaching, classwork, and research during the coronavirus outbreak: https://guides.library.msstate.edu/coronavirus

Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Mississippi State University

Help

Research Guides

Technical Reports Research Guide

Technical Reports from Government Agencies

Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)
General public and industry have access to unclassified, unlimited information, including many full-text downloadable documents, through this website.

Department of Energy Office of Scientific and Technical Information (DOE OSTI)
The site's resources cover from 1948 to present, and include journal articles/accepted manuscripts and related metadata; technical reports; scientific research datasets and collections; scientific software; patents; conference and workshop papers; books and theses; and multimedia. It also has more than 445,000 full-text DOE-funded STI documents.

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
You can search, retrieve, download, print, and order EPA technical, scientific, and educational materials from this site. As the site indicates, when searching by EPA publication number, remove the prefix and all non-alphanumeric characters. For example, change: EPA 600/R-04-030.A to 600R04030A

NASA Technical Reports
This server provides access to aerospace-related citations, full-text online documents, images, and videos. The types of information included are: conference papers, journal articles, meeting papers, patents, research reports, images, movies, and technical videos – scientific and technical information (STI) created or funded by NASA.

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) Documents
This library provides full-text documents back to 1999. It also contains more than 2 million bibliographic citations (some with abstracts and full text) for earlier documents with the majority dating back to 1980, which are available in microfiche formats.

Science.gov
This is a portal that offers free access to scientific and technical information from scientific organizations across 15 U.S. federal agencies.

Transportation Research Information Service (TRID)
This database contains references to books, technical reports, conference proceedings, and journal articles in the field of transportation research. TRID does not contain information on vehicle standards and specifications, patent information, market research, or military transport.

Additional Sites

CiteSeerX
This digital library and search engine focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science. The results are full text articles and technical reports.

HathiTrust Bibliography of Technical Reports
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Interlibrary Loan

If the library does not have the technical reports you are looking for, you can request for a copy of the reports through the interlibrary loan service. The copies can come as paper or microfiche.