Research Guides: Technical Reports Information Guide: Research Databases

Technical Reports Libraries

The National Technical Information Service (NTIS) archives the largest collection of U.S. government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related technical reports. The reports are open access and freely available to the public. Many of the publications are available in full text.

Technical Report Archive and Image Library (TRAIL)

The Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL) identifies, acquires, catalogs, digitizes and provides unrestricted access to U.S. government agency technical reports. These full-text reports mostly were published before 1975.

Databases to Search

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore digital library is a powerful resource for discovery of and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE and its publishing partners. IEEE Xplore provides access to more than four-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature including scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings.
Tutorial: http://info.scopus.com
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The full text collection of all Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text educational literature and resources. This version of ERIC provides access via a familiar EBSCO platform.
Tutorial: http://support.ebsco.com/help/?int=ehost&lang=en&feature_id=Databases&TOC_ID=Always&SI=0&BU=0&GU=1&PS=0&dbs=eric
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a Google search of scholarly content and literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles. Set Google preferences to access full-text via the MSU Libraries many databases and journals.
Tutorial: http://library.msstate.edu/content/templates/?a=884
Mississippi State University Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
You can also search the library's online catalog to find print copies of technical reports that the library owns.

Library update: Recent database changes

Technical Reports Information Guide

Citing Technical Reports

Technical Reports Libraries

Databases to Search