Skip to Main Content

Computer Science and Engineering

Selected Article Databases

Listed below are databases that you may find useful for your research. For a complete listing of all of MSU Libraries' online databases, click here.
If the MSU Libraries does not provide access to a journal article or other item that you need, you may order it via Interlibrary Loan.

Finding the Full Text

To find journal articles, use the library's online databases. In the databases, you can conduct keyword, author, title, or subject searching.

  1. Always use the Find It button for possible full text online. Examine any holdings statements to see if we have the volume and issue that the article appears in.
  2. If no full-text available online, then use the Find It button to connect to the library's online catalog to see if the library has the journal in print format, so you can locate the article in the library.
  3. If the library doesn't have the article online or in print, use Interlibrary Loan to get it from another library.

Search Tips

Search Connectors 

  • AND: narrows the search by finding records with both terms
  • OR: broadens the search by finding records with either term
  • NOT: narrows the search by finding records with 1st term but not 2nd

Truncation

  • Using the asterisk (*) to stand in for all word endings

e.g. compute*  for compute, computer, computingetc.

Searching by Phrase

  • Place an exact phrase in quotes

Subject Terms

  • Special indexing terms 
  • Once subject terms for a database have been identified, can change search fields from “Select a Field” to “SU Subjects” (exact wording can vary by database)