TEAL- Secondary Education

"This collection provides a list of free educational resources for K-12 students and their parents and teachers. It features free video lessons/tutorials; free mobile apps; free audiobooks, ebooks and textbooks; quality YouTube channels; free foreign language lessons; test prep materials; and free web resources in academic subjects like literature, history, science and computing."

Cyberbullying is a problem. Whether you are researching ways of combating it as a teacher or for a paper, these are some good resources to consider.

A database of speeches and videos available for students to analyze.

"Explore the Census in Schools Web site to learn about the importance of census data and how it can help you learn about your world."

"The Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development to help teachers effectively use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections in their teaching."

Individualized vocabulary-building programs for 6th - 12th grades.

This is a great collection of ideas and assignments for secondary English classes. It is especially aimed at those teaching AP English.

This website is sponsored by the United States' NASA program. Lesson plans and ideas for K-12 students regarding science, technology, engineering and mathematics, or STEM, are freely available here.

This National Geographic website offers a variety of geography-based web resources for K-12 students.

Free studying and learning tools for all grade levels.

This particular link goes to 7-8th grade, but there are a wealth of free resources for K-12 on this site. Scroll to the bottom left corner to view the resources available.

"Hundreds of standards-based lesson plans written and reviewed by educators using current research and the best instructional practices."

Teaching Channel is a video showcase—on the Internet and TV—of inspiring and effective teaching practices in America's schools.

Part of the Teaching Diverse Students Initiative (TDSi), this site "helps educators ... by providing research-based resources for improving the teaching of racially and ethnically diverse students."

This blog is maintained by the New York Times and contains a wealth of secondary materials, from lesson plans to SOAP activities.

"The Museum has many resources for teachers striving to help students learn the history of the Holocaust and reflect upon the moral and ethical questions raised by that history."

This is an online version of our database ERIC. "ERIC provides unlimited access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added twice weekly. If available, links to full text are included."

The MDE's mission is "to provide leadership through the development of policy and accountability systems so that all students are prepared to compete in the global community."

"ED was created in 1980 by combining offices from several federal agencies. ED's mission is to promote student achievement and preparation for global competitiveness by fostering educational excellence and ensuring equal access."