he dynamic marketplace of American consumers is at your fingertips in the new 14th edition of The American Marketplace: Demographics and Spending Patterns. Designed for convenience, The American Marketplace collects in one handy volume the latest demographic and socioeconomic data to keep you up to date with the ever-changing consumer landscape. Its hundreds of tables are organized into 11 chapters covering attitudes, education, health, housing, income, labor force, living arrangements, population, spending, time use, and wealth. The American Marketplace reveals the latest demographic trends and tells the American story. It examines changing lifestyles in rich detail, from growing racial and ethnic diversity to declining home ownership, from disappearing nuclear families to shifting patterns of household spending, from another baby bust to new attitudes toward gay marriage and the American Dream.
Instructs readers on how to use methods of statistics and experimental design with R software Applied statistics covers both the theory and the application of modern statistical and mathematical modelling techniques to applied problems in industry, public services, commerce, and research. It proceeds from a strong theoretical background, but it is practically oriented to develop one's ability to tackle new and non-standard problems confidently. Taking a practical approach to applied statistics, this user-friendly guide teaches readers how to use methods of statistics and experimental design without going deep into the theory. Applied Statistics: Theory and Problem Solutions with R includes chapters that cover R package sampling procedures, analysis of variance, point estimation, and more. It follows on the heels of Rasch and Schott's Mathematical Statistics via that book's theoretical background--taking the lessons learned from there to another level with this book's addition of instructions on how to employ the methods using R. But there are two important chapters not mentioned in the theoretical back ground as Generalised Linear Models and Spatial Statistics. Offers a practical over theoretical approach to the subject of applied statistics Provides a pre-experimental as well as post-experimental approach to applied statistics Features classroom tested material Applicable to a wide range of people working in experimental design and all empirical sciences Includes 300 different procedures with R and examples with R-programs for the analysis and for determining minimal experimental sizes Applied Statistics: Theory and Problem Solutions with R will appeal to experimenters, statisticians, mathematicians, and all scientists using statistical procedures in the natural sciences, medicine, and psychology amongst others.
This is an essential how-to guide on the application of structural equation modeling (SEM) techniques with the AMOS software, focusing on the practical applications of both simple and advanced topics. Written in an easy-to-understand conversational style, the book covers everything from data collection and screening to confirmatory factor analysis, structural model analysis, mediation, moderation, and more advanced topics such as mixture modeling, censored date, and non-recursive models. Through step-by-step instructions, screen shots, and suggested guidelines for reporting, Collier cuts through abstract definitional perspectives to give insight on how to actually run analysis. Unlike other SEM books, the examples used will often start in SPSS and then transition to AMOS so that the reader can have full confidence in running the analysis from beginning to end. Best practices are also included on topics like how to determine if your SEM model is formative or reflective, making it not just an explanation of SEM topics, but a guide for researchers on how to develop a strong methodology while studying their respective phenomenon of interest. With a focus on practical applications of both basic and advanced topics, and with detailed work-through examples throughout, this book is ideal for experienced researchers and beginners across the behavioral and social sciences.
Architects of Intelligence contains a series of in-depth, one-to-one interviews where New York Times bestselling author, Martin Ford, uncovers the truth behind these questions from some of the brightest minds in the Artificial Intelligence community. -Publisher's website
Based on data collected from the Bureau of Labor Statistics' 2014 Consumer Expenditure Survey, this report analyzes the demographics of household spending on hundreds of products and services. Identifies which households spend the most on those products and services, and which control the largest share of spending. Also included is a product-by-product analysis of spending trends before and after the Great Recession, and a prediction of future trends.
Get the expert perspective and practical advice on big data The Big Data-Driven Business: How to Use Big Data to WinCustomers, Beat Competitors, and Boost Profits makes the casethat big data is for real, and more than just big hype. The bookuses real-life examples--from Nate Silver to Copernicus, andApple to Blackberry--to demonstrate how the winners of thefuture will use big data to seek the truth. Written by a marketingjournalist and the CEO of a multi-million-dollar B2B marketingplatform that reaches more than 90% of the U.S. businesspopulation, this book is a comprehensive and accessible guide onhow to win customers, beat competitors, and boost the bottom linewith big data. The marketplace has entered an era where the customer holds allthe cards. With unprecedented choice in both the consumer world andthe B2B world, it's imperative that businesses gain a greaterunderstanding of their customers and prospects. Big data is the keyto this insight, because it provides a comprehensive view of acompany's customers--who they are, and who they may betomorrow. The Big Data-Driven Business is a complete guideto the future of business as seen through the lens of big data,with expert advice on real-world applications. Learn what big data is, and how it will transform theenterprise Explore why major corporations are betting their companies onmarketing technology Read case studies of big data winners and losers Discover how to change privacy and security, and remodelmarketing Better information allows for better decisions, bettertargeting, and better reach. Big data has become an indispensabletool for the most effective marketers in the business, and it'sbecoming less of a competitive advantage and more like an industrystandard. Remaining relevant as the marketplace evolves requires afull understanding and application of big data, and The BigData-Driven Business provides the practical guidance businessesneed.
Branding guru Aaker shows how to eliminate the competition andbecome the lead brand in your market This ground-breaking book defines the concept of brand relevanceusing dozens of case studies-Prius, Whole Foods, Westin, iPad andmore-and explains how brand relevance drives market dynamics, whichgenerates opportunities for your brand and threats for thecompetition. Aaker reveals how these companies have made otherbrands in their categories irrelevant. Key points: When managing anew category of product, treat it as if it were a brand; By failingto produce what customers want or losing momentum and visibility,your brand becomes irrelevant; and create barriers to competitorsby supporting innovation at every level of the organization. Using dozens of case studies, shows how to create or dominatenew categories or subcategories, making competitors irrelevant Shows how to manage the new category or subcategory as if itwere a brand and how to create barriers to competitors Describes the threat of becoming irrelevant by failing to makewhat customer are buying or losing energy David Aaker, the author of four brand books, has been calledthe father of branding This book offers insight for creating and/or owning a newbusiness arena. Instead of being the best, the goal is to be theonly brand around-making competitors irrelevant.
Construct, analyze, and visualize networks with networkx, a Python language module. Network analysis is a powerful tool you can apply to a multitude of datasets and situations. Discover how to work with all kinds of networks, including social, product, temporal, spatial, and semantic networks. Convert almost any real-world data into a complex network--such as recommendations on co-using cosmetic products, muddy hedge fund connections, and online friendships. Analyze and visualize the network, and make business decisions based on your analysis. If you're a curious Python programmer, a data scientist, or a CNA specialist interested in mechanizing mundane tasks, you'll increase your productivity exponentially. Complex network analysis used to be done by hand or with non-programmable network analysis tools, but not anymore! You can now automate and program these tasks in Python. Complex networks are collections of connected items, words, concepts, or people. By exploring their structure and individual elements, we can learn about their meaning, evolution, and resilience. Starting with simple networks, convert real-life and synthetic network graphs into networkx data structures. Look at more sophisticated networks and learn more powerful machinery to handle centrality calculation, blockmodeling, and clique and community detection. Get familiar with presentation-quality network visualization tools, both programmable and interactive--such as Gephi, a CNA explorer. Adapt the patterns from the case studies to your problems. Explore big networks with NetworKit, a high-performance networkx substitute. Each part in the book gives you an overview of a class of networks, includes a practical study of networkx functions and techniques, and concludes with case studies from various fields, including social networking, anthropology, marketing, and sports analytics. Combine your CNA and Python programming skills to become a better network analyst, a more accomplished data scientist, and a more versatile programmer. What You Need: You will need a Python 3.x installation with the following additional modules: Pandas (>=0.18), NumPy (>=1.10), matplotlib (>=1.5), networkx (>=1.11), python-louvain (>=0.5), NetworKit (>=3.6), and generalizesimilarity. We recommend using the Anaconda distribution that comes with all these modules, except for python-louvain, NetworKit, and generalizedsimilarity, and works on all major modern operating systems.
The leaders of Razorfish share their strategies for merging marketing and IT To create rich, technologically enabled experiences, enterprises need close collaboration between marketing and IT. Converge explains how the merging of technology, media, and creativity is revolutionizing marketing and business strategy. The CEO and CTO of Razorfish, one of the world's largest digital marketing agencies, give their unique perspective on how to thrive in this age of disruption. Converge shares their first-hand experience working closely with global brands--including AXE, Intel, Samsung, and Kellogg--to solve business problems at the collision point between media, technology, and marketing. With in-depth looks at cloud computing, data- and API-enabled creativity, ubiquitous computing, and more, Converge presents a roadmap to success. Explains how to organize for innovation within your own organization by applying the principles of agile development across your business Details how to create a religion around convergence, explaining how to tell the story throughout the organization Outlines how to adapt processes to keep up with and take advantage of rapid technological change A book by practitioners for practitioners, Converge is about rethinking business organizations for a new age and empowering your people to thrive in a brand, new world.
8 powerful ways to market your business online to consistently generate an abundance of leads that convert into profitable customers. Dynamic Digital Marketing teaches any business or individual how to increase online visibility and presence, attract their target audience, generate leads, and convert them into profitable customers. Author Dawn McGruer is an expert at making businesses and brands shine online. She is passionate about helping entrepreneurs and businesses maximise their digital marketing profits by developing digital skills which scale and grow their businesses and accelerate their success. Most entrepreneurs and businesses fully understand the importance of digital marketing, yet many do not know where to start or, worse, continue to spend time, money, and effort on strategies that fail to provide the best results for their investment. To remedy this situation, Dawn developed her multi-award-winning digital marketing framework, Dynamic Digital Marketing Model. Offering step-by-step guidance, this book shows you how to use this model to market your business online whilst transforming yourself into a proficient digital marketer. This must-read book will help you: Gain invaluable insights on what works - and what doesn't - based on the author's 20 years' experience in digital marketing Avoid pitfalls and missteps by implementing the same proven success strategies used by key influencers Harness the power of search engine optimisation (SEO), social media, content marketing, online video, and more Amplify your brand, cultivate customers, and increase profits Incorporate e-mail marketing, customer analytics, strategic web design, and influencer partnerships in your overall digital marketing strategy Dynamic Digital Marketing: Master the world of online and social media marketing to grow your business is an indispensable resource for business leaders, business owners, marketing and sales professionals, digital strategists and consultants, entrepreneurs, and students in business and marketing programmes.
Evidence-Based Statistics: An Introduction to the Evidential Approach - from Likelihood Principle to Statistical Practice provides readers with a comprehensive and thorough guide to the evidential approach in statistics. The approach uses likelihood ratios, rather than the probabilities used by other statistical inference approaches. The evidential approach is conceptually easier to grasp, and the calculations more straightforward to perform. This book explains how to express data in terms of the strength of statistical evidence for competing hypotheses. The evidential approach is currently underused, despite its mathematical precision and statistical validity. Evidence-Based Statistics is an accessible and practical text filled with examples, illustrations and exercises. Additionally, the companion website complements and expands on the information contained in the book. While the evidential approach is unlikely to replace probability-based methods of statistical inference, it provides a useful addition to any statistician's "bag of tricks." In this book: It explains how to calculate statistical evidence for commonly used analyses, in a step-by-step fashion Analyses include: t tests, ANOVA (one-way, factorial, between- and within-participants, mixed), categorical analyses (binomial, Poisson, McNemar, rate ratio, odds ratio, data that's 'too good to be true', multi-way tables), correlation, regression and nonparametric analyses (one sample, related samples, independent samples, multiple independent samples, permutation and bootstraps) Equations are given for all analyses, and R statistical code provided for many of the analyses Sample size calculations for evidential probabilities of misleading and weak evidence are explained Useful techniques, like Matthews's critical prior interval, Goodman's Bayes factor, and Armitage's stopping rule are described Recommended for undergraduate and graduate students in any field that relies heavily on statistical analysis, as well as active researchers and professionals in those fields, Evidence-Based Statistics: An Introduction to the Evidential Approach - from Likelihood Principle to Statistical Practice belongs on the bookshelf of anyone who wants to amplify and empower their approach to statistical analysis.
This is the first book to show the capabilities of Microsoft Excel in teaching marketing statistics effectively. It is a step-by-step exercise-driven guide for students and practitioners who need to master Excel to solve practical marketing problems. If understanding statistics isn't your strongest suit, you are not especially mathematically-inclined, or if you are wary of computers, this is the right book for you. Excel, a widely available computer program for students and managers, is also an effective teaching and learning tool for quantitative analyses in marketing courses. Its powerful computational ability and graphical functions make learning statistics much easier than in years past. However, Excel 2016 for Marketing Statistics: A Guide to Solving Practical Problems is the first book to capitalize on these improvements by teaching students and managers how to apply Excel to statistical techniques necessary in their courses and work. Each chapter explains statistical formulas and directs the reader to use Excel commands to solve specific, easy-to-understand marketing problems. Practice problems are provided at the end of each chapter with their solutions in an appendix. Separately, there is a full Practice Test (with answers in an Appendix) that allows readers to test what they have learned.
The bestselling book updated with all of the latest features and Facebook upgrades This latest revision covers the newest Facebook tools and techniques, including how to use the Timeline for your business page and how to take advantage of third-party apps. It will also explore the psychology of the Facebook user, explain ways to build your fan base and increase brand awareness, look at how to promote your page with events and contests, and discuss ways to monitor and measure your efforts. Real-world case studies illustrate the techniques. Facebook is among the most important marketing tools for today's business or nonprofit organizations This extremely popular guidebook has been fully updated to cover Facebook's new and ever-evolving tools Shows how to create and administer the Timeline for your page, how to use events, contests, and polls to generate interest, ways to increase brand awareness, and how to integrate your Facebook marketing campaign with other marketing efforts Introduces you to the psychology of a Facebook user, shows how third-party apps can be used with your Facebook presence, and helps you focus on tried-and-true strategies and techniques Facebook Marketing For Dummies, 4th Edition is a must-read for businesses and nonprofits that want to succeed in today's social media environment.
Steenkamp introduces the global brand value chain and explains how brand equity factors into shareholder value. The book equips executives with techniques for developing strategy, organizing execution, and measuring results so that your brand will prosper globally. What sets strong global brands apart? First, they generate more than half their revenue and most of their growth outside their home market. Secondly, their brand equity is responsible for a massive percentage of their firm's market value. Third, they operate as single brands everywhere on the planet. We find them in B2C and B2B industries, among large and small companies, and among established companies and new businesses. The stewards of these brands have a set of skills and knowledge that sets them apart from the typical corporate marketer. So what's their secret? In a world that is globalizing, but not yet globalized, how do you build a powerful global brand that resonates universally but also accommodates local nuances? How do you ensure that it is dynamic and flexible enough to change at market speed? World-class marketing expert Jan-Benedict Steenkamp has studied global brands for over 25 years on six continents. He has distilled their practices into eight tools that you can start using today. With case studies from around the world, Steenkamp's book is provocative and timely. Global Brand Strategy speaks to three types of B2C and B2B managers: those who want to strengthen already strong global brands, those who want to launch their brands globally and get results, and those who need to revive their global brand and stop the bleeding.
From drones to wearable technology to Hyperloop pods that can potentially travel more than seven hundred miles per hour, we're fascinated with new products and technologies that seem to come straight out of science fiction. But, innovations are not only fascinating, they're polarizing, as, all too quickly, skepticism regarding their commercial viability starts to creep in. And while fortunes depend on people's ability to properly assess their prospects for success, no one can really agree on how to do it, especially for truly radical new products and services. In Innovation Equity, Elie Ofek, Eitan Muller, and Barak Libai analyze how a vast array of past innovations performed in the marketplace--from their launch to the moment they became everyday products to the phase where consumers moved on to the "next big thing." They identify key patterns in how consumers adopt innovations and integrate these with marketing scholarship on how companies manage their customer base by attracting new customers, keeping current customers satisfied, and preventing customers from switching to competitors' products and services. In doing so, the authors produce concrete models that powerfully predict how the marketplace will respond to innovations, providing a much more authoritative way to estimate their potential monetary value, as well as a framework for making it possible to achieve that value.
Caveat venditor--let the seller beware While marketers look for more ways to get personal with customers, including new tricks with "big data," customers are about to get personal in their own ways, with their own tools. Soon consumers will be able to: * Control the flow and use of personal data * Build their own loyalty programs * Dictate their own terms of service * Tell whole markets what they want, how they want it, where and when they should be able to get it, and how much it should cost And they will do all of this outside of any one vendor's silo. This new landscape we're entering is what Doc Searls calls The Intention Economy--one in which demand will drive supply far more directly, efficiently, and compellingly than ever before. In this book he describes an economy driven by consumer intent, where vendors must respond to the actual intentions of customers instead of vying for the attention of many. New customer tools will provide the engine, with VRM (Vendor Relationship Management) providing the consumer counterpart to vendors' CRM (Customer Relationship Management) systems. For example, imagine being able to change your address once for every company you deal with, or combining services from multiple companies in real time, in your own ways--all while keeping an auditable accounting of every one of your interactions in the marketplace. These tantalizing possibilities and many others are introduced in this book. As customers become more independent and powerful, and the Intention Economy emerges, only vendors and organizations that are ready for the change will survive, and thrive. Where do you stand?
Location-based Marketing outlines the main concepts, methods and strategies for implementing spatial marketing, also known as geomarketing. With an emphasis on the value of mapping in marketing decision-making, this book demonstrates the importance of a more spatialized view of these decisions, in order to best respond to market realities - whether local or international. The main techniques of geomarketing are presented along with an understanding of the spatial behavior of consumers, both outside the point of sale and in stores. The book further introduces the idea of a "geomarketing mix", which spatializes product innovations, merchandising, pricing and various aspects of promotion. Finally, the book defines what real georetailing comprises and develops the concept of mobile marketing based on geolocation techniques.
Marketing has changed forever--this is what comes next Marketing 4.0: Moving from Traditional to Digital is the much-needed handbook for next-generation marketing. Written by the world's leading marketing authorities, this book helps you navigate the increasingly connected world and changing consumer landscape to reach more customers, more effectively. Today's customers have less time and attention to devote to your brand--and they are surrounded by alternatives every step of the way. You need to stand up, get their attention, and deliver the message they want to hear. This book examines the marketplace's shifting power dynamics, the paradoxes wrought by connectivity, and the increasing sub-culture splintering that will shape tomorrow's consumer; this foundation shows why Marketing 4.0 is becoming imperative for productivity, and this book shows you how to apply it to your brand today. Marketing 4.0 takes advantage of the shifting consumer mood to reach more customers and engage them more fully than ever before. Exploit the changes that are tripping up traditional approaches, and make them an integral part of your methodology. This book gives you the world-class insight you need to make it happen. Discover the new rules of marketing Stand out and create WOW moments Build a loyal and vocal customer base Learn who will shape the future of customer choice Every few years brings a "new" marketing movement, but experienced marketers know that this time its different; it's not just the rules that have changed, it's the customers themselves. Marketing 4.0 provides a solid framework based on a real-world vision of the consumer as they are today, and as they will be tomorrow. Marketing 4.0 gives you the edge you need to reach them more effectively than ever before.
Helping tech-savvy marketers and data analysts solve real-world business problems with Excel Using data-driven business analytics to understand customers and improve results is a great idea in theory, but in today's busy offices, marketers and analysts need simple, low-cost ways to process and make the most of all that data. This expert book offers the perfect solution. Written by data analysis expert Wayne L. Winston, this practical resource shows you how to tap a simple and cost-effective tool, Microsoft Excel, to solve specific business problems using powerful analytic techniques--and achieve optimum results. Practical exercises in each chapter help you apply and reinforce techniques as you learn. Shows you how to perform sophisticated business analyses using the cost-effective and widely available Microsoft Excel instead of expensive, proprietary analytical tools Reveals how to target and retain profitable customers and avoid high-risk customers Helps you forecast sales and improve response rates for marketing campaigns Explores how to optimize price points for products and services, optimize store layouts, and improve online advertising Covers social media, viral marketing, and how to exploit both effectively Improve your marketing results with Microsoft Excel and the invaluable techniques and ideas in Marketing Analytics: Data-Driven Techniques with Microsoft Excel.
New customer technology environments are magical worlds. With the rise of virtual reality, augmented reality, the internet of things and more, customers are more engaged, more involved, and easier to reach than ever ; while being inundated with increasing amounts of marketing material. How can you market effectively using these new CTEs? Providing an accessible description of these new, emerging technologies, along with novel frameworks with which to apply them, marketing expert Devanathan Sudharshan offers a straightforward guide to leveraging CTEs. Laden with examples to make the discussion vivid for readers and excite their imaginations, Sudharshan covers decision making in CTEs, mixed reality technologies and enabling technologies. CTEs are still emerging, and their business impact is yet to be measured. This exciting investigative text offers students, practitioners and researchers the chance to learn about these technologies, see the possibilities of their impacts, and their growing applications for the world.
In Mastering Market Analytics, Robert Kozielski presents various measurement systems and marketing metrics, along with common mistakes made by organizations and managers in the process of measuring business activities, and illustrates how to avoid these mistakes. The new turbulent business environment has resulted in the decrease in effectiveness and efficiency of marketing activities, resulting in 50% of campaigns in social media remaining unnoticed by the public in 2016 alone. Response rates on emailing campaigns have dropped, one dollar invested in TV advertising generates only .32 cents of return, which all leaves the question of whether these activities are still effective in the contemporary world. What does effective marketing actually mean and which areas can be measured while assessing organizational effectiveness? Do sales and marketing benefit only the company or do they also generate value for customers? With over twenty years of experience in world markets, Kozielski takes lessons and case studies from Eastern Europe to delve into 76 indicators, divided into four groups: sales, distribution, marketing communication, and ecommerce and social media, exploring from both the strategic and operational points of view. Linking applicable descriptions of the metrics with systems of measurement for these marketing activities and results, Kozielski's work is of interest to marketing scholars and MBA students.
The demands of a more dynamic, globalized business world have led to sophisticated methods for quantifying marketing success. This informative guide defines and explains the use of more than 110 key marketing metrics for the success of your business. In eleven focused sections, this resource makes otherwise complex topics understandable. Written for marketing professionals accountable for measurable results as well as senior executives who need a firm understanding of marketing's impact on a business or product line, it clearly explains the metrics that you can use to measure marketing. Along the way, you'll be introduced to a variety of important analytical tools, from brand, customer, and sales metrics to advertising, price, and distributions metrics. And with the addition of new examples and metrics--including significant updates to the online/digital/social area-- Measuring Marketing, Third Edition will put you in a better position to excel at this difficult endeavor.
The seventh edition of the pioneering guide to generating attention for your idea or business, packed with new and updated information In the Digital Age, marketing tactics seem to change on a day-to-day basis. As the ways we communicate continue to evolve, keeping pace with the latest trends in social media, the newest online videos, the latest mobile apps, and all the other high-tech influences can seem an almost impossible task. How can you keep your product or service from getting lost in the digital clutter? The seventh edition of The New Rules of Marketing and PR provides everything you need to speak directly to your audience, make a strong personal connection, and generate the best kind of attention for your business. An international bestseller with more than 400,000 copies sold in twenty-nine languages, this revolutionary guide gives you a proven, step-by-step plan for leveraging the power of technology to get your message seen and heard by the right people at the right time. You will learn the latest approaches for highly effective public relations, marketing, and customer communications--all at a fraction of the cost of traditional advertising! The latest edition of The New Rules of Marketing & PR has been completely revised and updated to present more innovative methods and cutting-edge strategies than ever. The new content shows you how to harness AI and machine learning to automate routine tasks so you can focus on marketing and PR strategy. Your life is already AI-assisted. Your marketing should be too! Still the definitive guide on the future of marketing, this must-have resource will help you: Incorporate the new rules that will keep you ahead of the digital marketing curve Make your marketing and public relations real-time by incorporating techniques like newsjacking to generate instant attention when your audience is eager to hear from you Use web-based communication technologies to their fullest potential Gain valuable insights through compelling case studies and real-world examples Take advantage of marketing opportunities on platforms like Facebook Live and Snapchat The seventh edition of The New Rules of Marketing and PR: How to Use Content Marketing, Podcasting, Social Media, AI, Live Video, and Newsjacking to Reach Buyers Directly is the ideal resource for entrepreneurs, business owners, marketers, PR professionals, and managers in organizations of all types and sizes.
FINALIST FOR THE FINANCIAL TIMES/MCKINSEY BUSINESS BOOK OF 2020 * FINALIST FOR SABEW'S INAUGURAL BEST IN BUSINESS BOOK AWARD In this "sequel to The Social Network" (The New York Times), award-winning reporter Sarah Frier reveals the never-before-told story of how Instagram became the most culturally defining app of the decade. "The most enrapturing book about Silicon Valley drama since Hatching Twitter" (Fortune), No Filter "pairs phenomenal in-depth reporting with explosive storytelling that gets to the heart of how Instagram has shaped our lives, whether you use the app or not" (The New York Times). In 2010, Kevin Systrom and Mike Krieger released a photo-sharing app called Instagram, with one simple but irresistible feature: it would make anything you captured look more beautiful. The cofounders cultivated a community of photographers and artisans around the app, and it quickly went mainstream. In less than two years, it caught Facebook's attention: Mark Zuckerberg bought the company for a historic $1 billion when Instagram had only thirteen employees. That might have been the end of a classic success story. But the cofounders stayed on, trying to maintain Instagram's beauty, brand, and cachet, considering their app a separate company within the social networking giant. They urged their employees to make changes only when necessary, resisting Facebook's grow-at-all-costs philosophy in favor of a strategy that highlighted creativity and celebrity. Just as Instagram was about to reach a billion users, Facebook's CEO Mark Zuckerberg--once supportive of the founders' autonomy--began to feel threatened by Instagram's success. Frier draws on unprecedented access--from the founders of Instagram, as well as employees, executives, and competitors; Anna Wintour of Vogue; Kris Jenner of the Kardashian-Jenner empire; and a plethora of influencers worldwide--to show how Instagram has fundamentally changed the way we show, eat, travel, and communicate, all while fighting to preserve the values which contributed to the company's success. "Deeply reported and beautifully written" (Nick Bilton, Vanity Fair), No Filter examines how Instagram's dominance acts as a lens into our society today, highlighting our fraught relationship with technology, our desire for perfection, and the battle within tech for its most valuable commodity: our attention.
The concept of customer engagement has evolved as a powerful tool for building a profitable approach to customer management. Profitable Customer Engagement is an authoritative book that communicates the fundamentals of profitable customer engagement by proposing a customer engagement value (CEV) framework. It is a first-of-its-kind book that outlines the methods of engaging customers profitably in business-to-consumer as well as business-to-business settings. The book offers firms with definitions of the metrics within the CEV framework, and the ways to measure and maximize these metrics that can help in engaging customers profitably. The interrelationships between these metrics, i.e., how each metric impacts the other, are also explained in detail with real-life examples.
Named a Top 10 Business Strategy Book of 2018 by Inc. magazine In his pioneering book Seizing the White Space, Mark W. Johnson argued that business model innovation is the most proven path to transformational growth. Since then, Uber, Airbnb, and other startups have disrupted whole industries; incumbents such as Blockbuster, Sears, Toys "R" Us, and BlackBerry have fallen by the wayside; and digital transformation has become one of the business world's hottest (and least understood) slogans. Nearly a decade later, the art and science of business model innovation is more relevant than ever. In this revised, updated, and newly titled edition, Johnson provides an eminently practical framework for understanding how a business model actually works. Identifying its four fundamental building blocks, he lays out a structured and repeatable process for reinventing an existing business model or creating a new one and then incubating and scaling it into a profitable and thriving enterprise. In a new chapter on digital transformation, he shows how serial transformers like Amazon leverage business model innovation so successfully. With rich new case studies of companies that have achieved new success and postmortems of those that haven't, Reinvent Your Business Model will show you how to: Determine if and when your organization needs a new business model Identify powerful new opportunities to serve your existing customers in existing markets Reach entirely new customers and create new markets through disruptive business models and products Seize opportunities for growth opened up by tectonic shifts in market demand, government policy, and technologies Make business model innovation a more predictable discipline inside your organization Business model innovation has the power to reshape whole industries--including retail, aviation, media, and technology--redistributing billions of dollars of value. This book gives you the tools to reshape your own company for enduring success. Reinvent Your Business Model is the strategic innovation playbook you need now and in the future.
This book is a complete introduction to the power of R for marketing research practitioners. The text describes statistical models from a conceptual point of view with a minimal amount of mathematics, presuming only an introductory knowledge of statistics. Hands-on chapters accelerate the learning curve by asking readers to interact with R from the beginning. Core topics include the R language, basic statistics, linear modeling, and data visualization, which is presented throughout as an integral part of analysis. Later chapters cover more advanced topics yet are intended to be approachable for all analysts. These sections examine logistic regression, customer segmentation, hierarchical linear modeling, market basket analysis, structural equation modeling, and conjoint analysis in R. The text uniquely presents Bayesian models with a minimally complex approach, demonstrating and explaining Bayesian methods alongside traditional analyses for analysis of variance, linear models, and metric and choice-based conjoint analysis. With its emphasis on data visualization, model assessment, and development of statistical intuition, this book provides guidance for any analyst looking to develop or improve skills in R for marketing applications.
This book discusses advanced topics such as R core programing, object oriented R programing, parallel computing with R, and spatial data types. The author leads readers to merge mature and effective methdologies in traditional programing to R programing. It shows how to interface R with C, Java, and other popular programing laguages and platforms.
Newcomers to R are often intimidated by the command-line interface, the vast number of functions and packages, or the processes of importing data and performing a simple statistical analysis. The R Primer provides a collection of concise examples and solutions to R problems frequently encountered by new users of this statistical software. This new edition adds coverage of R Studio and reproducible research.
Search Engine Optimization (SEO) is arguably the most significant tool that marketeers have to push online content. As the hub of the computational engineering fields, SEO encompasses technical, editorial and link-building strategies, and is an integral part of our daily lives. As important as it is ubiquitous, SEO is needed for the development of a brand's website and online reputation. When a website is live, one of its priorities is to drive organic traffic towards it, in order to attract visibility. In order to achieve such an aim, many proactive measures must be put in place, advice followed and tips implemented. There should also be an understanding of the holistic connection between a website's HTML sources, content management system and its relationship with external websites too (SEO off-site). There are many different search engines in the world and depending on the international boundary, one web browser usually dominates the landscape. Google features prominently in SEO Management, but this book also goes into detail regarding Baidu SEO (China), Yandex SEO (Russia) and Naver SEO (South Korea). There is also guidance given on how to manage a SEO project.
Pork dorks. Craftsters. American Girl fans. Despite their different tastes, these eclectic diehards have a lot in common: they're obsessed about a specific brand, product, or category. They pursue their passions with fervor, and they're extremely knowledgeable about the things they love. They aren't average consumers--they're superconsumers. Although small in number, superconsumers can have an outsized impact on a company's bottom line. Representing 10% of total consumers, they can drive between 30% to 70% of sales, and they're usually willing to spend considerably more than the average consumer. And because they're so engaged and passionate, they can offer invaluable advice to managers looking to improve their products, change their business models, energize their cultures, and attract new customers. In Superconsumers, growth strategy expert Eddie Yoon lays out a simple but extremely effective framework that has helped companies of all types and sizes achieve more sustainable growth: he'll show you how to find, listen to, and engage with your most passionate and profitable consumers, and then tailor your decisions to meet their wants and needs. Along the way, he'll let you into the minds and homes of superconsumers of all kinds, revealing what makes them tick and why they're willing to spend so much more than other consumers. Rich with data and case studies of companies that have implemented superconsumer strategies with great success, Superconsumers is a fun, practical, and inspiring guide for anyone interested in making their best customers even better.
The hands-on guide for fostering relentless innovation within your company Gerard Tellis, a noted expert on innovation, advertising, and global markets, makes the compelling case that the culture of a firm is the crucial driver of an organization's innovativeness. In this groundbreaking book he describes the three traits and three practices necessary to create a culture of relentless innovation. Organizations must be willing to cannibalize successful products, embrace risk, and focus on the future. Organizations build these traits by providing incentives for enterprise, empowering product champions, and encouraging internal markets. Spelling out the critical role of culture, the author provides illustrative examples of organizations with winning cultures and explores the theory and evidence for each of the six components of culture. The book concludes with a discussion of why culture is superior to alternate theories for fostering innovation. Offers a groundbreaking take on innovation that is driven by a company's culture Shows what it takes to create a culture of innovation within any organization Based on a study of 770 companies across 15 countries, the origin of 90 radical innovations spanning over 100 years, and the evolution of 66 markets spanning over a 100 years Provides numerous mini cases to illustrate the workings of culture Written by Gerard Tellis director of the Center for Global Innovation This must-have resource clearly shows the role of culture in driving relentless innovation and how to foster it within any organization.
Presenting a comprehensive resource for the mastery of network analysis in R, the goal of Network Analysis with R is to introduce modern network analysis techniques in R to social, physical, and health scientists. The mathematical foundations of network analysis are emphasized in an accessible way and readers are guided through the basic steps of network studies: network conceptualization, data collection and management, network description, visualization, and building and testing statistical models of networks. As with all of the books in the Use R! series, each chapter contains extensive R code and detailed visualizations of datasets. Appendices will describe the R network packages and the datasets used in the book. An R package developed specifically for the book, available to readers on GitHub, contains relevant code and real-world network datasets as well.
Sometimes you need more then a one-sentence answer. While the term marketing generally refers to what a company does to create value for customers, practicing marketers know they have a major role in setting their company's strategic direction. Successful marketing requires a deep knowledge of customers, competitors, and collaborators--and great skill in serving customers profitably. The book provides the foundation for developing those skills and insights. It's organized according to the design of the first-year marketing course in Harvard Business School's MBA program. Each chapter was written by HBS faculty and used by MBA students to analyze marketing opportunities and develop and execute successful marketing strategies. Areas covered include: Consumer behavior Business-to-business markets The four P's-product, placement, promotion and price Market segmentation, target market selection, and positioning Unique value propositions The design of new products and services Product line extensions and repositioning of exciting businesses Brand valuation and brand equity Fulfillment and after-sale service Direct, retail, and wholesale distribution channels and networks Marketing communications and promotions Advertising, public relations, and choice of media Pricing for profitability Personal selling and sales management Customer relationship management and customer privacy Customer acquisition, retention, and dismissal Basic math for making marketing decisions Timeless yet timely, this book provides valuable background information for understanding and interpreting business and competition from a marketing point of view. That makes it useful in both formal and informal educational settings, including on-the-job training. Simply put, it's required reading for marketing students and a must-have recourse for marketing professionals.
Full of practical diagrams and maps, as well as international case studies, this book offers a unique and extensively-tested 'GO-STOP Signal Framework', which allows managers to better understand why consumers are not buying their products and what can be done to put this right.
Trying to get your message heard? Build an iconic brand? Welcome to the battlefield. The story wars are all around us. They are the struggle to be heard in a world of media noise and clamor. Today, most brand messages and mass appeals for causes are drowned out before they even reach us. But a few consistently break through the din, using the only tool that has ever moved minds and changed behavior--great stories. With insights from mythology, advertising history, evolutionary biology, and psychology, viral storyteller and advertising expert Jonah Sachs takes readers into a fascinating world of seemingly insurmountable challenges and enormous opportunity. You'll discover how: * Social media tools are driving a return to the oral tradition, in which stories that matter rise above the fray * Marketers have become today's mythmakers, providing society with explanation, meaning, and ritual * Memorable stories based on timeless themes build legions of eager evangelists * Marketers and audiences can work together to create deeper meaning and stronger partnerships in building a better world * Brands like Old Spice, The Story of Stuff, Nike, the Tea Party, and Occupy Wall Street created and sustained massive viral buzz Winning the Story Wars is a call to arms for business communicators to cast aside broken traditions and join a revolution to build the iconic brands of the future. It puts marketers in the role of heroes with a chance to transform not just their craft but the enterprises they represent. After all, success in the story wars doesn't come just from telling great stories, but from learning to live them.