Landscape Architecture Research Guide

The Botanical Society of America encompasses all areas of plant biology, including development, physiology, reproductive biology, evolution, phycology, genetics, mycology, ecology, systematics, molecular biology, and paleobotany. The BSA is one of the world's largest societies devoted to the study of plants and allied organisms, and functions as an umbrella organization covering all specialties

Nearly 100,000 images of plants.

Sponsored by the Bard Graduate Center through a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities, Catena, the Digital Archive of Historic Gardens and Landscapes and its companion website, is envisioned as part of a larger, typologically organized archive of digital images with accompanying educational materials.

The Center for Land Use Interpretation is a research and education organization interested in understanding the nature and extent of human interaction with the earth's surface, and in finding new meanings in the intentional and incidental forms that we individually and collectively create. We believe that the manmade landscape is a cultural inscription, that can be read to better understand who we are, and what we are doing.

The Landslide Project highlights landscapes at risk and reports current issues in landscape preservation and interpretation. The Pioneers of American Landscape Design Oral Histories project not only landscape architects, but all who have played a role in creating our landscape heritage: landscape gardeners, architects, horticulturists, nursery owners, writers, engineers, educators, cemetery designers, planners, golf course architects, and naturalists.

Landezine was started in June of 2009. Since then it has been showcasing landscape architecture projects made by landscape architects and architects from around the globe. Today, Landezine is internationally renowned landscape architecture website and one of the most visible in the profession. More than 5,000 visitors from all over the world visit landezine.com every day. In 2016 we expanded our network and empowered our voice in the global community by launching LILA, Landezine International Landscape Award.

This online presentation of the HABS/HAER/HALS collections includes digitized images of measured drawings, black-and-white photographs, color transparencies, photo captions, written history pages, and supplemental materials. Since the National Park Service's HABS, HAER and HALS programs create new documentation each year, documentation will continue to be added to the online collections. The first phase of digitization of the Historic American Engineering Record collection was made possible by the generous support of the Shell Oil Company Foundation.

Look up, view a photo and read about the over 7,500 plants which are growing or have been grown in the Kemper Center display gardens (plus selected additions) by scientific name, common name and/or selected plant characteristics

The National Association for Olmsted Parks (NAOP), established in 1980, is a coalition of design and preservation professionals, historic property and park managers, scholars, municipal officials, citizen activists, and representatives of numerous Olmsted organizations around the United States. Its concern is the legacy of landscape work left by Frederick Law Olmsted Sr. and the firm continued by his sons.

The Olmsted Center for Landscape Preservation promotes the stewardship of significant landscapes through research, planning, maintenance, training, and education.

PlantFacts has merged several digital collections developed at Ohio State University to become an international knowledge bank and multimedia learning center.

The Smithsonian’s Archives of American Gardens collects, preserves, and provides access to resources that document the history of gardens in America. The Archives includes photographic and written documentation on over 10,000 historic and contemporary gardens. The collections document the work of landscape architects, garden designers, and garden photographers as well as a handful of seed companies. Photographic formats and processes represented in the collections include stereographs, lantern slides, autochromes, glass plate negatives, 35mm slides, and digital images.

Created by an act of Congress in 1879, the U.S. Geological Survey has evolved over the decades, matching its talent and knowledge to the progress of science and technology. The USGS is the sole science agency for the Department of the Interior. It is sought out by thousands of partners and customers for its natural science expertise and its vast earth and biological data holdings.

Browse by Latin or common plant names or search for plants by attributes such as flower or fall color, sun exposure, or foliage characteristics. Also search for a plant’s tolerance to deer, drought, urban conditions and more. Search for appropriate plants by specifying landscape situations and ornamental traits. Or, enter a plant scientific or common name to go directly to a species of interest.

ULI is the oldest and largest network of cross-disciplinary real estate and land use experts in the world. ULI is its members. Through our members' dedication to the mission and their shared expertise, the Institute has been able to set standards of excellence in development practice.

"Agricultural Research Service programs generate many publicly accessible data products that are catalogued in the Ag Data Commons."

The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.

The map shows 10 different zones, each of which represents an area of winter hardiness for plants. It also introduces zone 11 to represent areas that have average annual minimum temperatures above 40 F (4.4 C) that are therefore essentially frost free.

Web Soil Survey (WSS) provides soil data and information produced by the National Cooperative Soil Survey. It is operated by the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) and provides access to the largest natural resource information system in the world. NRCS has soil maps and data available online for more than 95 percent of the nation’s counties and anticipates having 100 percent in the near future. The site is updated and maintained online as the single authoritative source of soil survey information.

Access agency reports, farm bills, and productivity documents, and request information directly from the National Agricultural Library

World Landscape Architecture (WLA) is a landscape architecture industry website founded by Damian Holmes in 2007, to publicise the work of landscape architects and to provide the landscape architecture industry and students with the ability to promote their work whether it be design, policy, or research.

Online resource of all known plants with 1,422,002 names, 381,959 from accepted species, 57,419 images,160,127 names with descriptions, 36,166 with distributions and 182,001 with references.