Research Guides: Landscape Architecture Research Guide: Digital Map Collections

MS State Map Collections

MSU Libraries holds different types of maps in its collection. You will need to look at the location to see where you can access specific maps (Online, Mitchell Memorial Library, CAAD Library, or Special Collections).

Maps in the Online Catalog

Archives & Special Collections Mississippi Maps - you must make an appointment to visit by email (sp_coll@library.msstate.edu). When you email include the map you would like to view (what, where, date, made by, etc). Give them as much information as possible to have everything prepared for your visit. Also, give them the date and time you would like to come. They need a 2 business day lead time to pull items you need and prepare for your visit. DO NOT WAIT UNTIL THE LAST MINUTE!

Digital Map Collections

Bureau of Land Management
We provide live access to Federal land conveyance records for the Public Land States, including image access to more than five million Federal land title records issued between 1788 and the present. We also have images of survey plats and field notes, land status records, and control document index records. Due to organization of documents in the GLO collection, this site does not currently contain every Federal title record issued for the Public Land States.
USGS: Topographic Maps for America
Explore all USGS Maps and refine your search by type, topic, year, location, and advanced search. c
Mississippi MapSTATS
Princeton University Library Digital Maps and Geospatial Data
Scanned historical, geoscientific, topographic, and bathymetric maps and charts.
British Library Digital Map Collection
The British Library has one of the largest collections of maps, plans and topographical views in the world, numbering some 4.5 million, with a chronological spread of over 2,000 years.
Appalacian Regional Commission Research, Maps, and Data
The Appalachian Regional Commission compiles data, creates maps, and conducts research and evaluations on key economic, demographic, and quality of life factors that affect the current and future development prospects of the Appalachian Region. The most frequently requested reports, maps, and data are available online.
Google Maps
Provides maps and travel directions
Mississippiana Maps, MSU Special Collections
All maps listed are available to view in Special Collections and may be
requested at the Special Collections Reference Desk. Reproductions are subject
to size, fragility and copyright (if any) of the material.
Library of Congress Digital Map Collections
Search the digital map collections in the Library of Congress.
Old Maps Online
OldMapsOnline.org indexes over 400.000 maps. This is only thanks to the archives and libraries that were open to the idea and provided their online content. All new participants are warmly welcomed.
NYPL Digital Maps and Atlases Collection
Mississippi Department of Archives: Historical maps
MDAH staff digitized over 600 paper maps for this online exhibit. The earliest is a triptych printed by the famous Dutch cartographer Abraham Ortelius in 1588, including La Florida, drawn by Geronimo Chaves. In his book The Southeast in Early Maps, William P. Cumming called La Florida "one of the half-dozen most important mother maps of southeastern North America." Several maps in the exhibit trace the history of Mississippi from early exploration through colonial expansion, the territorial period, and statehood. Others are hand-drawn plans and plats of towns, such as P. A. Van Dorn's original plan for the city of Jackson in 1822.