The resources used by chemical engineers are available in a variety of formats, from print handbooks and encyclopedias that define concepts and explain processes to online databases of chemical names, formulas and properties.
How to use Google Scholar to find full text articles that the library has paid for?
Go to Google Scholar website.
Click on the title of an article in Google Scholar. If the library has subscribed to that journal, you can access the article directly, when you are on campus (If you are off campus, you will need your MSU NetID and Password to access the article, or you can install VPN).
Click on “Find It@MSState Libraries”. This will open up a dialog box. The Find It button will either connect to the library's online catalog or take you to the InterLibrary Loanrequest page.
To find journal articles, use the library's online databases. In the databases, you can conduct keyword, author, title, or subject searching.
Always use the Find Itbutton for possible full text online. Examine any holdings statements to see if we have the volume and issue that the article appears in.
If no full-text available online, then use the Find It button to connect to the library's online catalogto see if the library has the journal in print format, so you can locate the article in the library.
If the library doesn't have the article online or in print, use Interlibrary Loan to get it from another library.
SciFinder searches chemical substances by chemical name, chemical structure, or CAS registry number. It also searches literature related to a topic by author, CAS number, or patent number. ATTENTION: Only FIVE users can search SciFinder simultaneously. You must be a current MSU faculty/staff member or student to access this resource.
The American Chemical Society's website provides access to full text and abstracts from journals published by ACS. You must be a current MSU faculty/staff member or student to access this resource.
Scopus is "the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research." Ei Compendex and MedLine are included in Scopus. Here is a tutorial for using this database (http://library.msstate.edu/reference/scopus). You must be a current MSU faculty/staff member or student to access this resource.
This full text database searches articles in areas such as agriculture, energy, renewable energy resources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, and more.
This database represents the works of authors from over 1,000 universities. Full text access is available for dissertations from 1997 to present. NOTE: these files are extremely large. You must be a current MSU faculty/staff member or student to access this resource.
The Electronic Journal List provides the journals that are available online through the MSU Libraries. Journals are organized by title, and dates of availability are provided. You must be a current MSU faculty/staff member or student to access this resource.
Provides a Google search of scholarly content and literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles. Set Google preferences to access full-text via the MSU Libraries many databases and journals.
