Omeka is an open source content management site to create and display digital exhibits and collections. MSU hosts Omeka Classic to allow MSU faculty and students to create, edit, and host digital exhibits to display their scholarly research. Digitized items included in the collection and exhibit must be drawn from MSU Library’s Special Collections, Congressional and Political Research Center, US Grant Presidential Library, unless otherwise approved.
MSU students and faculty members can create an online exhibit. It is strongly suggested that you work with a staff member from Special Collections (firstname.lastname@example.org) to assist you in curating the digital images for your collection.
Curator's responsibilities include:
A group of library staff have volunteered to be liaisons for Omeka curators. Once the proposal has been approved, a Library staff member from this group will be assigned to the project as a liaison. A liaison can provide assistance in curating the digital images for the collection and guidance on best practices for exhibit displays and metadata creation. However, the curator has the primary responsibility for creating the exhibit, managing the items and the collection, creating accurate metadata for those materials, and confirming copyright and fair use of the materials.
Site Curators are responsible for identifying copyright and obtaining the copyright owner's declaration and license to include copyrighted material in their Omeka exhibit. Failure to obtain necessary copyright permission might result in a request from outside sources to remove the content or take down the exhibit. For further information related to copyright matters, consult the Copyright and Fair Use guide.
It is not possible to automatically migrate a legacy exhibition (previously independently created Omeka exhibits) into MSU's Omeka instance, but you may recreate it. If you choose to recreate your legacy online exhibition in Omeka, the final product may have a different look and feel from the original. The standard Omeka template places certain limitations on formatting but provides added functionality. Should the online exhibition curator or sponsoring department decide to recreate exhibitions in Omeka, the working group recommends the following approach:
For Omeka support, contact Emily Harrison, Digital Project Specialist, email: email@example.com