HathiTrust Digital Library

HathiTrust offers two main ways of searching their content. 

• Basic Search: This is the default single searchbox option.
• Advanced Search: Allows you to combine a search of the full text while limiting to fields found in the record of the item.

Basic Search Option
This is the single searchbox option you see when going to the HathiTrust website. There is a drop-down menu on the right that allows you to choose how you want to search.

Full Text & All Fields: Searches the full document as well as the catalog record

All Fields: Searches the catalog record, which includes title of the publication, author, subject heading, etc.

General Search Tips

• Use quotation marks to look for an exact phrase: e.g., "Grand Canyon"
• Use boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to make your search more specific. "AND" combines search terms ("Grand Canyon" AND rafting), "OR" looks for either search term (rafting OR boating), while "NOT" excludes a search term ("White Russian" NOT "cocktail")
• Use Advanced Search to limit by year, language, & format, or search for descriptive terms within specific fields (author, title, publisher)

Refining Your Results Page

Use the tabs located above your results to show all items in the collection or just items with full text

• All Items: Shows all items in the collection. There will be items that you will not have full-text access to.
• Full View: Shows all items in the collection that you will have full-text access to.

Use the facets of the left hand of the page to refine your results by subject, author, date, location of the physical item, etc ...

Use the Icons Listed Below Each Search Result to Access the Item

Catalog Record

• View the record of the item

Full View

• View the full text of the item

Limited (search-only)

• No full-text view, but search inside volume