Skip to main content

MSU Libraries are here to help.

See a guide to using the library for teaching, classwork, and research during the coronavirus outbreak: https://guides.library.msstate.edu/coronavirus

Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Mississippi State University

Help

Research Guides

HathiTrust Digital Library

This guide provides an overview of HathiTrust and how to use it.

HathiTrust

HathiTrust Logo

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. Hathi (pronounced hah-tee) means elephant in Hindi, symbolizing memory, wisdom, and strength.

Hathitrust Collection

HathiTrust contains millions of digital books, journals, government documents, and other volumes, all digitized from research libraries.  The collection includes both public domain and in-copyright works across a full range of subjects.   Over half of the content is in English, but hundreds of languages are represented, including large amounts of material in German, French, Chinese, Russian and Spanish.  Although all items are discoverable, viewability depends on the rights status of the individual item. 

Partnership with MSU Libraries

Mississippi State University became a partner of Hathitrust in the Spring of 2020

HathiTrust began in 2008 as a collaboration of the thirteen universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation, the University of California system, and the University of Virginia to establish a repository to archive and share their digitized collections. HathiTrust has quickly expanded to include additional partners and to provide those partners with an easy means to archive their digital content.  

Partner institutions as well as their users gain many benefits from joining HathiTrust!

  • Improved downloading permissions (full volumes for works not in copyright)
  • Ability to create and save collections
  • Access to text-enabled PDFs regardless of copyright status for users with print disabilities (applies only to works owned by MSU Libraries)
  • Access to full-text of titles owned by MSU Libraries that are brittle or otherwise unusable, regardless of copyright status, as covered under US Copyright Section 108

 

Log in instructions

Log in to enable more downloading options and other features!


How to Login

  1. Click on the the Log In button at the top right hand side of the page.
  2. Choose Mississippi State University from the drop-down menu and click Continue.
  3. Log in using your MSU credentials.

screenshot of find partner institution

Acknowledgment

The guide authors would like to acknowledge Penny Pugh of West Virginia University for permission to use content from the HathiTrust guide that she created (https://libguides.wvu.edu/hathitrust).https://libguides.wvu.edu/hathitrust