Research Guides: FLS 4490 Spanish for Heritage Speakers: Library Databases & E-Journals

Database Tutorial

Using the databases listed below, start searching for articles by conducting an author, title, keyword(s), or subject search.

Many times, you will find that the full text of the article is available online, but sometimes, you will find a record of the article (and not the full text)! Here's what you do:

Click on the button that accompanies the article. This will help you look for other ways to get the article. It could be:
- The article is available online, but in a different database, and the Find It button links you to that database.
- The article is available in print at the MSU Libraries. If the link takes you to a library page with journal information, check the publication dates to see if MSU Libraries owns the issue of that subscription.
- The articles is not in a database or print collection that we own, but can be requested through InterLibrary Loan.

Library Databases

The databases listed below are good starting points for finding articles on Spanish culture, history, literature, and language.

To search across several of these databases at once, you can do keyword searches in EBSCO Discovery from the library homepage.

Find the full list of databases here.

Project MUSE
Project MUSE provides access to important scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, with coverage that includes the fields of literary studies. Full-text access to many journals is available through MSU's subscription.
You must be a current MSU faculty member, staff member, or student to access this resource.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to archives of important scholarly journals across a wide variety of academic disciplines, including literary studies. Full-text access to many journals is available through MSU's subscription.
You must be a current MSU faculty member, staff member, or student to access this resource.
Humanities International Complete (EBSCO)
This database includes all data from Humanities International Index (over 2,000 titles and 2 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 770 journals. Humanities International Complete is an invaluable resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
Literary Index (Gale)
Search for "harder-to-find" literary analysis on short works such as short stories, poems, and plays. This source also contains analyses on larger works and authors' biographical information.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
Published by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, this resource is an interdisciplinary collection of scholarly works on Latin America, with coverage going back to 1990. It provides links to the numerous volumes of the print Handbook of Latin American Studies, as well as to relevant journals and e-resources. You must be a current MSU faculty/staff member or student to access this resource.
ERIC
Primarily known for its coverage of education-related topics, this databases therefore covers topics related to foreign-language study and teaching.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Academic Search Premier provides indexing and full text for many relevant titles. Literary criticism can be located in this database by searching for either the author of the work or the title of the work and combining the search with the term "criticism."
You must be a current MSU faculty member, staff member, or student to access this resource.

E-Journals

If you want to browse a specific journal, check our holdings by searching that journal in our Online Catalog. Click the Find It button to see our electronic access. The journals listed below are some of the titles available electronically through the MSU Libraries or on the web.

Library update: Recent database changes

FLS 4490 Spanish for Heritage Speakers

Database Tutorial

Library Databases

E-Journals