The library has several databases available to support Music. Thes following databases may be accesed through the provided links, or by visiting the Database page (from the library's homepage) and inputting the Database Title.
Naxos Music Library is an entertaining, educational resource, which offers the best selection of studied music on the web. Through a sophisticated online search engine, users select music by composer, artist, period, year of composition, instrument or genre. Playlists are easily created for educational use or for hours of continuous enjoyment. Composer biographies, CD liner notes, and work analyses are just a few of the text resources available to users while streaming music from the NML. Naxos's new releases (around 200 CDs annually) are continually added, ensuring an impressive selection in both quality and musical breadth.
Oxford Music Online, home of Grove Music Online, the world’s premier online music encyclopedia, offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship. Access now includes Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music.
General Research Information
The best places to find articles are our electronic databases. Academic Search Complete and Music Index Online (Ebsco) contain articles that may prove useful.
Designed for academic institutions, Academic Search Complete provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary, full-text academic journals. The capacity of content within this resource fully supports scholarly research in the key areas of academic study by providing peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books, and much more. Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of the most valuable full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, this database is the leading source of peer-reviewed, full-text for STM research, as well as for the Social Sciences and Humanities. This scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study, including music.
This database is a comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature featuring digitized content from 1970 to present. This database contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 480 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 200 periodicals. The comprehensive coverage of the music field and every aspect of the classical and popular worlds of music makes Music Index an invaluable resource for both novice and scholar.