Research Guides: Civil Rights Research: Archival Research

John C. Stennis Collection

Here are a list of folders that contain materials from correspondences, speeches, press materials, and political items of John C. Stennis concerning Civil Rights in Mississippi. Review the materials in these records in the Mississippi Political Collections, housed on the fourth floor of the library.

Search the John C. Stennis (and other Mississippi political) collections here.

Series 29: Civil Rights
Series 49: Speeches
Box 17, Folders 25-26 include speeches on the Desegregation of Schools
Series 50: Politics
Box 9, Folder 3 includes items from the Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party.
Series 51: Public Series - Press Releases
Includes boxes of information on Hospital Integration, School Desegregation, Desegregation (general), and Civil Rights (general)

University Archives Collections Relating to the Game of Change

MSU vs. Loyola 1963 Digital Collection
This digital collection contains correspondence, media guides, and programs from MSU decision to play in the 1963 NCAA Tournament. Items come from the Dean W. Colvard collection and the University Archives Athletics Collection.
Dean W. Colvard Presidential Papers, 1960-1966 (A79-39)
The Dean W. Colvard Papers consist of 24 boxes of materials. The files are arranged alphabetically by title and include both general correspondence and subject files. Topics include: Board of Trustees, Committees,Extension Service, Departmental files, and the University's decision to allow the men’s basketball team to participate in the NCAA tournament against integrated teams.
Dean W. Colvard Mixed Emotions Collection (A85-120)
The Dean W. Colvard Mixed Emotions Collection consists of correspondence received by President Colvard either in favor of or against his decision to allow the MSU Men's Basketball team to particpate in the NCAA Tournament. The collection contains correspondence, telegrams, clippings, and other materials used in the writing of his memoirs.
Mississippi State University Reveilles, 1963 and 1964
Digitized versions of the 1963 and 1964 MSU Yearbook, the Reveille.

University Archives and Special Collections

Use the linked finding aids to explore the contents of a collection, and visit Special Collections in the Library (662-325-7723) to access the materials within these collections.

Segregation/Integration Misc. Collection (MSS. 131)
Turner Catledge Papers (MSS. 116)
Turner Catledge was Mississippi-born journalist during the Civil Rights Era. His collection contains personal and business-related papers.
Douglas Conner papers (MSS.179)
Delta Ministry papers (MSS.78)
The bulk of the collection concerns political campaigns, elections, civil rights issues, and school desegregation.
Billy Simpson Loyalist Democrat collection (MSS.270)
Patricia Derian papers (MSS.130)
Patricia Derian was a social activist who led the Mississippians for Public Education group that opposed the White Citizen's Council.
Allen Eugene Cox papers (MSS.45)
Contains information on Mississippi Citizen's Council
Dr. Richard Holmes (A03-23)
First African American student to enroll at MSU. Collection contains his speeches, correspondences, and dedication of the Holmes Cultural Diversity Center. (This collection is not online.)
Hodding and Betty Werlein Carter Papers (MSS. 127)
Journalists during the Civil Rights Era.
Hodding Carter III Papers (MSS. 347)
(This collection is not online.)
James P. Coleman Collection (MPC-381)
Coleman was the governor of Mississippi from 1956-1960.
Wilson F. "Bill" Minor Papers (MSS. 80)
Journalist during the Civil Rights Era.
Mississippi Republican Party Papers (MPC-353)
Series VI contains memos, correspondences, and office files concerning Civil Rights issues.
John C. Stennis Oral History Project
Links and locations for interviews in the John C. Stennis Oral History Collection in MSU's Special Collections.

Library update: Recent database changes

Civil Rights Research

John C. Stennis Collection

University Archives Collections Relating to the Game of Change

University Archives and Special Collections