The following are some reputable resources available on the Internet. If you have suggestions of other sites for consideration, please email me at mdale@library.msstate.edu.
"This collection provides a list of free educational resources for K-12 students and their parents and teachers. It features free video lessons/tutorials; free mobile apps; free audiobooks, ebooks and textbooks; quality YouTube channels; free foreign language lessons; test prep materials; and free web resources in academic subjects like literature, history, science and computing."
This page contains links to all the book and media awards, for both current and past years. Award-winning books are appropriate for a wide range of ages and interests.
"This is a collection of reviews of great books for kids, ideas of ways to use them in the classroom and collections of books and activities about particular subjects, curriculum areas, themes and professional topics."
The Children's Picture Book Database "gives teachers, librarians, parents, and students a place for designing literature-based thematic units for all subjects. "
"Curriki is an online environment created to support the development and free distribution of world-class educational materials to anyone who needs them. Our name is a play on the combination of 'curriculum' and 'wiki' which is the technology we're using to make education universally accessible."
"The Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development to help teachers effectively use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections in their teaching."
This website is sponsored by the United States' NASA program. Lesson plans and ideas for K-12 students regarding science, technology, engineering and mathematics, or STEM, are freely available here.
This is an online version of our database ERIC. "ERIC provides unlimited access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added twice weekly. If available, links to full text are included."
The MDE's mission is "to provide leadership through the development of policy and accountability systems so that all students are prepared to compete in the global community."
"ED was created in 1980 by combining offices from several federal agencies. ED's mission is to promote student achievement and preparation for global competitiveness by fostering educational excellence and ensuring equal access."
