Online/Distance Learners Portal

The online catalog will allow you to search what the MSU and surrounding Libraries have for journal titles, books, DVDs, CDs, microfilm, eBooks, and more. For distance students, if you need a circulating book (one that can be checked out) from the MSU Libraries, follow these steps:

1. Find the item in the Online Catalog
2. Click on the Place Hold button
3. Log in using your MSU Net ID and Net Password
4. For Pickup Library, select "MSU-Distance Ed Student" from the drop-down menu
5. The book will be mailed to you. You will be responsible for return mailing costs.

Please note: If you are a (previously) on-campus thesis or dissertation student no longer living near MSU, you are not considered a distance education student by our computer system, but you can still have items owned by MSU mailed to you. Instead of using the method above, please request any MSU books through interlibrary loan.

You can return books by mail using either of the following addresses:

Mitchell Memorial Library
Attn: Access and Information
PO Box 5408
Mississippi State, MS 39762

Mitchell Memorial Library
Attn: Access and Information
395 Hardy Rd.
Mississippi State, MS 39762

You are responsible for return postage and any overdue fines. Fines are based on the date books arrive at Mitchell Memorial Library; avoid fines by renewing books prior to returning them. You are responsible for any damage or loss, including those occurring during shipment.

Check out the table to see how long you are eligible to check out what you need. For any items that the MSU Libraries owns, you can renew them twice.

Circulating books from the MSU Libraries' print collections can be renewed online. This page shows you how.

Interlibrary loan is the borrowing of materials (books, articles, book chapters, etc.), that are not found within the MSU Libraries' collection, from other Libraries across the country.

1. Log into ILLiad at https://illiad.library.msstate.edu/illiad
2. The first time you log in, you will be asked to complete your registration information.
3. For Site, select "Distance Education" from the dropdown menu
4. Select Book under New Request

Click here to access our Interlibrary Loan tutorial

There are several libraries that you have access to as a student and can use to check out books by using your MSU NetID. This link contains the list of participating libraries in the Mississippi Library Partnership. Note that books owned by partnership libraries (other than MSU) cannot be mailed to you. However, you can have books sent to any other library in the partnership for free by placing a hold on the book you wish to borrow and selecting a location close to you. If you need a book mailed, please enter the item as a New Request in your ILLiad account.

This link provides you a list of databases and indexes that are available to you as a MSU student. The list is arranged both alphabetically and by subject for your convenience. Remember, when trying to access articles off campus, be sure to first login using the secured MSU Virtual Private Network (VPN). For more information please visit https://servicedesk.msstate.edu/TDClient/KB/?CategoryID=80.

MSU Libraries has thousands of journals that we subscribe to, both in print and electronically. This link allows you to search and see whether a specific journal is available electronically or in print.

Interlibrary loan is the borrowing of materials (books, articles, book chapters, etc.), that are not found within the MSU Libraries' collections from other libraries across the country. Distance students can also use this service to request PDFs of articles and book chapters that are in the MSU collections.

1. Log into ILLiad at https://illiad.library.msstate.edu/illiad
2. The first time you log in, you will be asked to complete your registration information.
3. For Site, select "Distance Education" from the dropdown menu
4. Select Article under New Request
5. You will receive an email when the PDF is available

Click here to access our Interlibrary Loan tutorial

MSU Theses & Dissertations from Summer 2001-present

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses contains dissertations & theses from many institutions around the globe. Full-text access is available for most documents from 1997 to present (and sometimes earlier), with abstracts available for documents before 1997.