Research Guides: Industrial and Systems Engineering: Article Databases

Google Scholar Search Tips

How to use Google Scholar to find full text articles that the library has paid for?

Go to Google Scholar website.
Click on the title of an article in Google Scholar. If the library has subscribed to that journal, you can access the article directly, when you are on campus (If you are off campus, you will need your MSU NetID and Password to access the article, or you can install VPN).
Click on “Find It@MSState Libraries”. This will open up a dialog box. The Find It button will either connect to the library's online catalog or take you to the InterLibrary Loan request page.

To learn more about searching Google Scholar, check the Google Scholar for Academic Research guide.

Database Search Tips

Use quotation marks to search for exact phrases (“project management”).

Use Boolean operators to conduct effective searches. There are three Boolean search commands: AND, OR and NOT.

AND command looks for all of the search terms. This searching ensures that all terms are in the results.
OR command looks for one term or the other. This searching will return a large number of results.
NOT eliminates results that contain the specified term.

Finding the Full Text

To find journal articles, use the library's online databases . In the databases, you can conduct keyword, author, title, or subject searching.

Always use the Find It button for possible full text online. Examine any holdings statements to see if we have the volume and issue that the article appears in.
If no full-text available online, then use the Find It button to connect to the library's online catalog to see if the library has the journal in print format, so you can locate the article in the library.
If the library doesn't have the article online or in print, use Interlibrary Loan to get it from another library.

Finding Articles

The following databases include "peer-reviewed full text for STEm research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more."

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The full text collection of all Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Find scientific and technical content published by the IEEE and its publishing partners. IEEE Xplore provides access to more than four-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature including scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings.
Tutorial: http://info.scopus.com

Business Source Complete
Provides abstracting and indexing for over a thousand journals and full text for nearly 4,000 journals covering business, management, economics, finance, banking, accounting, and much more. Coverage back to the 1920s and beyond.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a Google search of scholarly content and literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles. Set Google preferences to access full-text via the MSU Libraries many databases and journals.
Tutorial: http://library.msstate.edu/content/templates/?a=884
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Designed for academic institutions, this database is a resource for scholarly research.It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, booksand more.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is the portal to retrieve Elsevier eJournals and eBooks. (MSU does not have full-text access to all Elsevier journals and books.)

Code of Federal Regulations
The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government. No login is required for off-campus access.
NTIS - National Technical Information Service
Offers bibliographic and abstract coverage of U.S. government and worldwide government-sponsored research. The NTIS database covers over 2 million critical report citations from government departments, including NASA and U.S. Department of Defense. No login is required for off-campus access.

Library update: Recent database changes

Industrial and Systems Engineering

Google Scholar Search Tips

Database Search Tips

Finding the Full Text

Finding Articles