Research Guides: Biological Sciences Subject Guide: Find Books

Looking for books?

To locate books of a particular topic, you can try the following:

Search the Libraries' Online Catalog by keyword, subject, title, etc. Then you will find the call number, location, and status of a book information in the libraries of MSU.
You can also try this digital library, HathiTrust (You must click the large "Login" button in the upper right of the HathiTrust site to access material, even when on campus.)
Use Inter-Library Loan (ILL). If the MSU Libraries doesn't own a particular book, you may want to borrow it from other libraries. You can simply fill out an online inter-library loan request form (https://illiad.library.msstate.edu/illiad/)

Biology Book Classification

Biological sciences related books are located on the 3rd floor of the library. Below are the book call number ranges:

QH 1 - QH199	Natural History - Biology
QH 201 - QH279	Microscopy
QH 301 - QH358	General Biology
QH 359 - QH425	Evolution
QH 426 - QH470	Genetics
QH 471 - QH489	Reproduction
QH 540 - QH549	Ecology
QH 573 - QH671	Cell Biology
QK Botany QP Physiology QR Microbiology
QR 75 - QH99	Bacteria
QR 100 - QH130	Microbial Ecology
QR 180 - QH198	Immunology
QR 355 - QH502	Virology

Subject Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Encyclopedia of Microbiology by Joshua Lederberg (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: QR9 .E53 2000
ISBN: 9780122268007
The Encyclopedia of Microbiology, Second Edition both challenges and stimulates the reader, and illustrates the importance of microbiology, a field that cannot be over emphasized in this booming biotechnology age.
Encyclopedia of Evolution by Mark D. Pagel (Editor)
Call Number: QH360.2 .E54 2002
ISBN: 9780195122008
The Encyclopedia covers evolutionary thought in genetics, animal behavior, and every area of the life sciences, as well as in anthropology, psychology, linguistics, sociology, economics, medicine, philosophy, and other fields. There are hundreds of tables, charts, grtaphs, maps and otherillustrations, bibliographies, cross-references and index.
Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior by Michael D. Breed (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: Electronic book
ISBN: 9780080453378
This comprehensive work covers not only the usual topics such as communication, learning, sexual selection, navigation, and the history of the field, but also emerging topics in cognition, animal welfare, conservation, and applications of animal behavior. Chapters relating to animal welfare give a full view of behavioral interactions of humans with companion animals, farm animals, and animals in the wild.
The Encyclopedia of Ecology and Environmental Management by Peter Calow
Call Number: Electronic
ISBN: 9780632063413
"The Encyclopedia of Ecology and Environmental Management" addresses the core definitions and issues in pure and applied ecology.

Library update: Recent database changes

Biological Sciences Subject Guide

Looking for books?

Biology Book Classification

Subject Encyclopedias and Dictionaries