Skip to main content
We are here to help:

Graphic Novels and Comics

This guide contains resources about graphic novels, comics, and other forms of sequential art, including recommended books, databases, journals, and websites.

Will Eisner Awards

The Will Eisner awards are named for the man considered the "father" of the graphic novel, and are presented at the annual San Diego "Comic-Con" convention.

Harvey Kurtzman Awards

Nicknamed "The Harveys" these awards were named for one of the creators of "Mad" magazine. Formerly presented at Baltimore Comic-Con , the awards will be held at New York Comic Con in 2018.

American Library Association Great Graphic Novels for Teens

"Great Graphic Novels for Teens" is a list of recommended graphic novels and illustrated nonfiction for those ages 12-18, prepared yearly by the Young Adult Library Services Association division of the American Library Association. It is announced at the ALA Midwinter meeting held each January.

SPX Ignatz Awards

The Ignatz Awards, named for the character in the classic comic strip Krazy Kat by George Herriman, is a festival prize that recognizes outstanding achievement in independent comics and cartooning. The ballot is created by a panel of five cartoonists and is voted on by the attendees of the Small Press Expo (SPX) festival.