Skip to main content

MSU Libraries are here to help.

See a guide to using the library for teaching, classwork, and research during the coronavirus outbreak: https://guides.library.msstate.edu/coronavirus

Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Libraries Mississippi State University Mississippi State University

Help

Research Guides

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

How to find books?

To locate books of a particular topic, you can try the searching below:
1. MSU Libraries' Online Catalog. Searching by author, title, keyword, subject, etc., you will find call number, location, and checking status of a book in all libraries of MSU.
2. Inter-Library Loan (ILL). If no library in MSU owns a particular book, you may want to borrow it from other libraries. You can simply fill out an online inter-library loan request form .

Reference Books

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

The Facts on File Dictionary of Biochemistry.
Ref QP512 .F33
Areas included in this dictionary are basic organic and physical chemistry, classes of compounds, cytology and histology, nutrition and metabolism, and natural-product chemistry. Appendixes provide major events in the development of biochemistry and molecular biology. Tables and suggested Web pages are also included.
 
The Enzyme Reference : A Comprehensive Guidebook to Enzyme Nomenclature, Reactions, and Methods.
Ref QP601 .P87
A comprehensive source on enzyme-catalyzed reactions. It includes a compendium of over 6,000 enzyme reactions. Covers over 900 chemical structures of key metabolites and cofactors.
 
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology.
Ref QP512 .O94
Includes more than 17,000 terms currently in use in the fields of biochemistry and molecular biology. Describes essential features of enzymes and proteins. Chemical structures are covered as well.
 
Biochemical Pathways: An Atlas of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology.
Ref QP171.B685
Provides information on the metabolic pathways, the chemistry and enzymology of conversions, the regulation of turnover, and the effect of disorders. Color charts are used to explain the multi-step reactions with a series of chemical formulas.
 
Color Atlas of Biochemistry.
Ref QP514.2 .K6613
Focuses on human and mammalian biochemistry. Covers structure and composition of biologically relevant molecules and their metabolism. The book also includes interlinking of chemical structures with biological functions, how molecules are arranged, as well as the evolution of biochemical processes.